Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Mask Events suddenly showing up
Mask Events suddenly showing up
I have a Respironics S9 with humidifier that I've been using without problems for about 4 years. About a month ago the hours used for the last 24 hours that show up on pressing the Info button were only about half the clock hours that I had the mask on. This is now every night, not a rare event. I've rebooted the machine, replaced the SIM card - no change. This is new. The usage hours used to match how long I had the mask on for the last four years.

The only other change I can see from when this started happening is that on the bar charts from the ResMed software, I now have "mask events" that add up to the missing time. They show up as black bands in the usage bars. The leak statistics haven't changed from what they used to be.

Does anyone know what "mask events" are or can give me some other idea of why my usage time is about half the actual time?

I should add that I'm in DME Hell. The company that sold me the machine went bankrupt and the new supplies provider (American Home Patient) won't service a machine they didn't sell. So I'm kind of on my own. I'm a Medicare patient with a year to go before the 5-year replacement.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Mask Events suddenly showing up
A "mask event" in ResScan is the time from when the machine is turned ON to when it is turned off WHILE the machine is detecting breathing. Mask events have nothing to do with leaks, and they should not subtract from the overall machine hours or therapy hours unless breathing is not detected.