Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Newly diagnosed OSA - Which ACPAP
Newly diagnosed OSA - Which ACPAP
Hi All,

Recently I was diagnosed with OSA and was advised a target pressure of 10 mbar. I spent countless hours searching for a right AutoCPAP machine to buy, and landed here. The forum is great with tons of useful information. I also read Archangel's wiki page. Though I am still not sure about the right machine to buy. I live in India and do not have any insurance to cover this. Could you please help with some of my questions?

A local seller is recommending me BMC's RESmart Auto with humidifier. His argument is to not go for expensive machines as I am new to the therapy and dont need such complex machines.

Reading this forum I think I should go for ResMed A10 AutoSet for Her. But the dilemma is: 
Do I actually need this expensive machine? 
What if I do not respond to it? 
Do I need all the data that ReSMed generates? 

I need to buy the machine quickly. Thanks very much for all your help!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Newly diagnosed OSA - Which ACPAP
It all depends what you want to do with your machine.
If you want to go outdoors and do camping etc, then a 12Vdc model would save you buying a step up 12Vdc to 24Vdc transformer as required with Resmed machines. I would be inclined to go for a 12Vdc model if you get power outs a lot as you can in an emergency run it on a 12Vdc car battery, though a heavy duty deep cycle battery would be best. Otherwise, pick what you want, but you get what you pay for and I would be inclined not to go for what your doctor says. Unless he has a good reason why he is recommending a cheap machine. If it is for life, as most are. Go for a good model that has good write ups.