Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] P30I Headgear rubbing bald spots?
P30I Headgear rubbing bald spots?
I am relatively new to BiPAP therapy and I LOVE the P30I mask.  It is so comfortable, seals well, and my apnea is well controlled (at least according to my AHI).

My problem is that every morning when I wake up I have VERY noticeable "bald" spots where the rubber parts of the headgear are on my head.  I say "bald" in quotes because I don't think it's actually making my hair fall out...not YET anyway.  But my hair is already thinning on the sides and I'm worried that it will make it work.  I tried a thick headband but that just falls off, so I ordered a sleep cap from Amazon that has a satin-like lining, but it is still happening.  I love this mask but I don't think I'm willing to go bald for it.

Is it possible the headgear is just a size too small?  They fit me with a small size (even though nothing about me has ever been called "small") and when I asked them about it, they said if it's comfortable and my apnea numbers are good then it's fine.  But that was before I started noticing the balding spots where the rubber parts are.  Since the sleep cap doesn't help, is it possible that going up to a medium frame might help?

Also good to note that the mask SEEMS to fit perfectly well.  It's not too tight (I did need to loosen it just a smidge when I added the sleep cap to the mix), and it leaves no marks anywhere else on my head or face.  In fact, once I lay down for the night I usually forget I am even wearing it unless I need to scratch my nose and I get a leak or something.