Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] Puritan bennet Goodknight 420g error In1 help
#1
Question 
I am temporarily using my old Puritan Bennet Goodknight 420g while my S9 is being repaired (broken while traveling). I am currently on another trip and my 420g is waking me up in the middle of the night by the pressure dropping. It has an automatic sensor that lowers the pressure if your mask comes off. Only my mask is not off nor leaking. Last night I unplugged it for awhile, replugged it in and that seemed to help for the rest of the evening. Tonight when it did it again, unplugging did not seem to help. I lowered the pressure by .5 twice, that did not help either. Does anyone know how to disable the automatic sensor? Or have any other suggestions? I really need to sleep! Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hi Somniculosus,

Welcome to Apnea Board.

You can request the clinician setup manual for your machine by following the directions on this page (see Section Three):

http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

That manual should give you info on how to turn off the auto-off feature that makes the machine stop delivering pressure when the mask is turned off.

Also, I would recommend that you don't lower your pressure to try and solve this problem.

Coffee
SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Hi Somniculosus,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
The only thing I would say is, it's not a good idea to lower your pressure to fix the problem you are having with your machine..
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Thank you more than i can express. The manual showed me how to shut off the sensor and now the machine works great! Pressure back to normal. Slept all night!
Smile
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
I am new to this forum. I would like to ask exactly how you turned off the "auto off" feature on your PB 420g. I have the Practitioner and home care provider manual but could find nothing in the manual about how to turn off that feature.
I too am getting the ln 1 error code and the pressure drops to 4 when the code appears. My normal pressure is 8. I bought this unit for travel and only use it while traveling. I know how to reset the pressure, I just need help with preventing the pressure from dropping to 4. I have never used a pressure hose with it and only recently started getting the error code. Any help greatly appreciated!
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(06-11-2013, 07:21 PM)Lburas Wrote: I am new to this forum. I would like to ask exactly how you turned off the "auto off" feature on your PB 420g.
As Somniculosus said the manual show how to shut the sensor off
See post #2, how to request the manual

Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(06-11-2013, 07:21 PM)Lburas Wrote: I am new to this forum. I would like to ask exactly how you turned off the "auto off" feature on your PB 420g. I have the Practitioner and home care provider manual but could find nothing in the manual about how to turn off that feature.
I too am getting the ln 1 error code and the pressure drops to 4 when the code appears. My normal pressure is 8. I bought this unit for travel and only use it while traveling. I know how to reset the pressure, I just need help with preventing the pressure from dropping to 4. I have never used a pressure hose with it and only recently started getting the error code. Any help greatly appreciated!

Dear Lburas,
When you access the settings, it is the sixth option (1st one is the pressure, 2nd the ramp time, 3rd the starting ramp pressure, 4th the hour meter value, 5th the compliance meter and the 6th is the pressure sensor.) Pages 12-14 of the manual. It doesn't actually say off and on. I set the number all the way up and now it doesn’t auto shut off. Hope this helps!
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(06-12-2013, 09:16 PM)Somniculosus Wrote:
(06-11-2013, 07:21 PM)Lburas Wrote: I am new to this forum. I would like to ask exactly how you turned off the "auto off" feature on your PB 420g. I have the Practitioner and home care provider manual but could find nothing in the manual about how to turn off that feature.
I too am getting the ln 1 error code and the pressure drops to 4 when the code appears. My normal pressure is 8. I bought this unit for travel and only use it while traveling. I know how to reset the pressure, I just need help with preventing the pressure from dropping to 4. I have never used a pressure hose with it and only recently started getting the error code. Any help greatly appreciated!

Dear Lburas,
When you access the settings, it is the sixth option (1st one is the pressure, 2nd the ramp time, 3rd the starting ramp pressure, 4th the hour meter value, 5th the compliance meter and the 6th is the pressure sensor.) Pages 12-14 of the manual. It doesn't actually say off and on. I set the number all the way up and now it doesn’t auto shut off. Hope this helps!

Thanks so much for your reply! I followed the directions on pages 12-14. The sixth option (pressure sensor) was set at 160. I used the button to increase it all the way to maximum (255) , but it went right back to 160. Is there a step I have missed? A button to push to save the new setting?
Thanks again!
Linda

Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(06-13-2013, 02:34 PM)Lburas Wrote:
(06-12-2013, 09:16 PM)Somniculosus Wrote:
(06-11-2013, 07:21 PM)Lburas Wrote: I am new to this forum. I would like to ask exactly how you turned off the "auto off" feature on your PB 420g. I have the Practitioner and home care provider manual but could find nothing in the manual about how to turn off that feature.
I too am getting the ln 1 error code and the pressure drops to 4 when the code appears. My normal pressure is 8. I bought this unit for travel and only use it while traveling. I know how to reset the pressure, I just need help with preventing the pressure from dropping to 4. I have never used a pressure hose with it and only recently started getting the error code. Any help greatly appreciated!

Dear Lburas,
When you access the settings, it is the sixth option (1st one is the pressure, 2nd the ramp time, 3rd the starting ramp pressure, 4th the hour meter value, 5th the compliance meter and the 6th is the pressure sensor.) Pages 12-14 of the manual. It doesn't actually say off and on. I set the number all the way up and now it doesn’t auto shut off. Hope this helps!

Thanks so much for your reply! I followed the directions on pages 12-14. The sixth option (pressure sensor) was set at 160. I used the button to increase it all the way to maximum (255) , but it went right back to 160. Is there a step I have missed? A button to push to save the new setting?
Thanks again!
Linda

Hi,
I just pushed the information access button until it exited. Mine saved without doing anything else. I am sorry. I hope you can get it to save. That can be so frustrating! Maybe unplug the machine for 15 seconds, then plug it back it and try again?
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
Hi Lburas,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hope you are able to get your machine straightened out.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Sad [CPAP] Res Med S9 help! Error: Settings reset to default values, please contact service pr dexter020281 14 10,773 Yesterday, 01:22 AM
Last Post: vsheline
  ResMed S9 Humidifer 5i Error Message atta_gurrrrl 4 2,707 02-05-2017, 07:56 AM
Last Post: gjw
  SD Card Error (Nothing new) justMongo 3 157 02-02-2017, 10:22 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  [Equipment] respironics bipap error code hanasdaddy 6 384 12-07-2016, 01:48 AM
Last Post: hanasdaddy
  [CPAP] Error code E33 1captnronrosser 3 442 10-14-2016, 04:10 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] Service Required Error Codes - Inner Workings of a CPAP machine SuperSleeper 18 70,439 10-10-2016, 01:48 PM
Last Post: juan345
  GoodKnight unit ramps down, "drops out of warp" jpap 5 374 09-05-2016, 06:04 AM
Last Post: cate1898

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.