Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] Purpose of WiFi on Resmed S9 Autoset
#1
Can someone please tell me if my data is being sent somewhere without my consent?

Thanks.







Thanks!
Richard


Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Do you have a modem on your machine?
If you do that data is most likely being sent to the DME you got the machine from. Call them and ask. Also most of the time it's only on there for your insurance's compliance requirements. Also a lot of the time they remove it as soon as the compliance period is over.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
how does one know if they have a modem on their machine...?
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(04-28-2014, 01:04 PM)lafsa Wrote: how does one know if they have a modem on their machine...?
It's a separate unit that attaches to the back of the blower unit like this:
[Image: S9Mode_zpse8be7d23.jpg]

The Resmed S9 Wireless Modem User manual is available from Resmed at http://www.resmed.com/assets/documents/p...ow_eng.pdf
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(04-28-2014, 12:35 PM)ImRichard Wrote: Can someone please tell me if my data is being sent somewhere without my consent?

Thanks.
You might want to check out Resmed's public web pages about EasyCare Online at http://www.resmed.com/us/en/commercial-p...nline.html.

It looks to me like the DME or doc (whoever gave you the modem) has the choice of downloading data to their computers or storing it in the cloud. It looks like they can choose to download anything from just the compliance data to the full efficacy data. It also looks like they can send settings changes back to the machine without ever informing you that a setting change has occurred.

Disturbing stuff if you ask me. Thinking-about
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(04-28-2014, 03:29 PM)robysue Wrote: Disturbing stuff if you ask me. Thinking-about

In God we Trust; all others we monitor.
[Image: NROL-32-patch.jpg]

Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Disturbing indeed. My DME provider told me they do indeed collect the data because they have to show the insurance company I'm being compliant as well as demonstrate the need for medical necessity.

I don't like this and I'm going to deal with it tomorrow.







Thanks!
Richard


Post Reply Post Reply
#8
You could wrap the antenna in tin foil. I believe it works off cellular phone service.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(04-28-2014, 04:42 PM)justMongo Wrote: You could wrap the antenna in tin foil. I believe it works off cellular phone service.

Isn't that for Aliens?









Thanks!
Richard


Post Reply Post Reply


#10
(04-28-2014, 06:19 PM)ImRichard Wrote:
(04-28-2014, 04:42 PM)justMongo Wrote: You could wrap the antenna in tin foil. I believe it works off cellular phone service.

Isn't that for Aliens?

Yes, aliens...... DME people --- Aliens.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  I changed my resmed AirSense 10 Autoset to auto jasonarmstrong 6 155 09-20-2017, 12:29 PM
Last Post: jasonarmstrong
Cool Recommendation: FlashAir and Flashpap - Wifi data transfer from CPAP to PC/Sleepyhead mogulman 11 294 09-19-2017, 10:51 PM
Last Post: CB91710
  Ramping on ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset victorndc 2 121 09-19-2017, 02:46 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed Autosense 10 Autoset + Climateline humidification settings mogulman 5 196 09-12-2017, 04:40 PM
Last Post: Walla Walla
  Resmed Autoset 10 alarm sound Ibiban 9 989 09-10-2017, 10:16 AM
Last Post: christian4870
  [CPAP] Resmed S9 Autoset operation question notenoughsleep 7 278 08-29-2017, 08:49 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Connect to DreamStation over Wifi? JRoque 8 488 08-25-2017, 10:03 PM
Last Post: robertbuckley

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.