Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] REMStar Pus C-Flex reset
#1
So last night I received the dreaded "Service required" message with no other error codes on my REMStar Plus C-Flex. After a dreadful night of little sleep I researched this further today and discovered it typically means a fatal fault in the unit due to its being dropped or short circuited from water in the humidifier.

Well neither of those things applied to me because the unit has been sitting in place for months and the humidifier has been empty for a week or so. Plus, it worked perfectly well the night before. All it would do now was give a little hum and a slight puff of air then stop. So I was pretty much giving up on it, thinking it simply died after two years. Then I decided to remove the two screws on the bottom and open it up to see if anyting looked out of place inside. Everything looked fine, no trace of water or damaged parts.

After I put the cover back on and plugged it back in, voila! It worked again...all was well, except the C-Flex was not kicking in on exhale. So I removed the cover again, made sure the silicone sensing piece was fitted snugly over the three holes on the exit tube from the blower, screwed the cover back on, and all was back to normal.

Does cover removal force some form of reset? Anybody else experienced this before?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Unplugging the unit and plugging it back will reset the machine.

Perhaps that "silicone sensing piece" was displaced the first time you took the cover off?
Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
I also have a REMstar Plus C-Flex that has just gone Kaput. It is not but 7 mos old. The "Service Required" warning is in effect but neither unplugging the power supply or removing the data card make any difference. Same thing as TxUtopian above, it has not been dropped or damaged by water and was working fine up until 2 days ago. I have not removed the cover as of yet though. Anyone else having issues with this model??
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
TxUtopian and nutthouse welcome to Apnea Board

nutthouse - If your machine bought as new, It comes with two years warranty
Exchanged it with a new one preferably with PRS1 Auto or PRO (Not Plus)
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Yeah, the Service Required notice is usually a fatal error. Why they don't have an error code for it, I dunno.

Since it is only 7 mos old, it is under warranty. Take it back.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Hi TxUtopian, WELCOME! to the forum! and I hope you get things straightened out with your machine.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
ThanksYou are a life saver!! Your advise worked like a charm - Thank you very, very much!!
Sinerely LAL
Thanks

"After I put the cover back on and plugged it back in, voila! It worked again...all was well, except the C-Flex was not kicking in on exhale. So I removed the cover again, made sure the silicone sensing piece was fitted snugly over the three holes on the exit tube from the blower, screwed the cover back on, and all was back to normal."


Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Remove/replace cover worked!! I registered just to say thank you!!!!
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
I don't usually comment on typos, but after reading this one, I think referring to these as the "REMstar Pus" models is a good idea.



Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
(05-25-2013, 06:37 AM)archangle Wrote: I don't usually comment on typos,
what typos?

Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Sad [CPAP] Res Med S9 help! Error: Settings reset to default values, please contact service pr dexter020281 14 10,806 02-18-2017, 01:22 AM
Last Post: vsheline
Gross [CPAP] Respironics REMStar System One Series 60 Repair lempface 6 264 02-04-2017, 07:01 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  Finding my ideal Flex/pressure relief setting (DreamStation Auto) JT01 8 611 01-31-2017, 02:21 PM
Last Post: Rcgop
  Setting the Time on RemStar Auto IQ 450 P HenryECole81 2 125 01-29-2017, 12:53 PM
Last Post: HenryECole81
  Remstar Auto M Series "Service Required" msgill59 4 358 01-22-2017, 08:57 AM
Last Post: msgill59
  Data Card Read for REMStar Pro C-Flex Auto IQ HenryECole81 8 209 01-19-2017, 09:02 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Reset Dreamstation Pro's Auto function without losing data? Russatrice 4 240 01-18-2017, 09:36 PM
Last Post: Hydrangea

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.