Post Reply 
[Equipment] Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
Author Message
foss Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 203
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: ResMed Autosense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View FFM
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 9 - 13.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Marine Chemist, Science Teacher & Counselor, Internet Server Admistrator

Sex: Male
Location: Under The Rainbow

Post: #1
Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
My local CPAP machine provider called me today. They had sent my first two weeks data dump to my doctor for review. My Airsense 10 sends the data to them daily via a cell phone network. The doctor recommended an increase in my pressure setting since I was maxing out at the set maximum pressure of 10. My events per hour have been averaging about 8, down from a sleep study number of 82 per hour. The provider called me this afternoon an told me that they had increased my maximum pressure to 15. I was at work at the time.

This is a very convenient service. According to the SleepyHead software, they had made changes a few days after I began using the machine. They didn't inform me about that incident. I just find it a little disconcerting that someone can log into my machine over the cell phone network and make changes. Could they or a hacker do that while I am using the machine? Heck, the US Dept. of Defense was just hacked and I am sure their security is much better than the local sleep study center.

Maybe I should select the airplane mode?????

Jeff
06-24-2015 07:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,844
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #2
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
You're not the first to have concerns.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-24-2015 08:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trailrider Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 304
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: A10 Autoset for Her
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Eson or P10
Humidifier: autoset
CPAP Pressure: 6-12 DME, 7-13 me
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: engineer. EPR at 3, unheated hose, humidity at 2. Routine hose entanglement.

Sex: Female
Location: Ontario

Post: #3
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
Many of us looked at that same thing. Most of us decided hackers were unlikely to be interested in a simple machine and more interested in other targets. I don't think anyone at Anonymous would be getting bragging rights about changing your pressures.
So be aware, but don't be overly concerned.

It is important for you to know your machine, it's settings and how to adjust them on your own if/when you want to. Keep in mind that if your DME is changing your settings, someone is paying them for that monitoring and adjusting service!

Since you read your own data, you will likely soon be doing your own adjustments and tweaks. Though to be honest, the longer one uses the machine, the less pressure adjusting is needed, because the all the "sweet spots" for pressure, humidity, EPR, ramp, etc. are found.
06-24-2015 08:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
foss Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 203
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: ResMed Autosense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View FFM
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 9 - 13.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Marine Chemist, Science Teacher & Counselor, Internet Server Admistrator

Sex: Male
Location: Under The Rainbow

Post: #4
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
Thanks Trailrider, I wish I could have been in on the decision loop. I have been studying the information available here and at other internet sites. I thought it would have been good to raise the level to twelve initially to see how that worked. But what do I know? I do know how to set the machine. The next time I actually see the doctor, I will ask her how long this "personalized" monitoring is going to last. Since I move often for work, it may become a moot point in the not too distant future.

Jeff
06-24-2015 08:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
(06-24-2015 07:07 PM)foss Wrote:  The doctor recommended an increase in my pressure setting since I was maxing out at the set maximum pressure of 10. My events per hour have been averaging about 8, down from a sleep study number of 82 per hour. The provider called me this afternoon an told me that they had increased my maximum pressure to 15. I was at work at the time.
Have they increased the minimum pressure or just the maximum pressure, profile shows ... CPAP Pressure: 5 - 15
Whats the breakdown of AHI events and leaks

They only get summary data and compliance data transmitted, detailed data available on the SD card
I would be concerned making changes remotely, based on numbers alone without the availability of detailed data and face to face with the doctor
(This post was last modified: 06-25-2015 02:30 AM by zonk.)
06-24-2015 09:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #6
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
Big business is terrible about computer security these days. I suspect it's possible for someone to hack the system and change your pressure settings.

However, I think it's unlikely to be a problem with your CPAP settings. There doesn't seem to be much profit in doing it. Computer crime is much more profit based these days instead of being teenage pranks.

If anything, they'd probably hack the servers of whoever runs the system that adjusts your pressure. Even then, they'd probably just steal credit card or identity theft data, not your therapy data and they wouldn't tamper with your settings. Disabling the cell modem wouldn't affect that.

Hacking, software bugs, or operator error in the servers might accidentally change your settings. A disgruntled employee might maliciously change people's settings.

All of the above are unlikely enough to cause problems that I wouldn't worry about it and I'm a professional paranoid.

I suspect the biggest risk is that your DME or doctor's office might accidentally mess up your settings.

I think the benefit outweighs the risk in most cases.

If you've changed your own pressure settings, they might notice and change them back. The system might even automatically change them back at some time. I suspect even that's unlikely. Most of the time, they only look at the compliance info so they can ring the cash register.

If something weird happens, be sure you know how to read your data and check the settings. That applies even if you don't have a wireless modem.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-25-2015 12:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Adoniscmj Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 168
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense10 Autoset for her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 6 to 9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Everett, Washington

Post: #7
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
(06-24-2015 07:07 PM)foss Wrote:  My local CPAP machine provider called me today. They had sent my first two weeks data dump to my doctor for review. My Airsense 10 sends the data to them daily via a cell phone network. The doctor recommended an increase in my pressure setting since I was maxing out at the set maximum pressure of 10. My events per hour have been averaging about 8, down from a sleep study number of 82 per hour. The provider called me this afternoon an told me that they had increased my maximum pressure to 15. I was at work at the time.

This is a very convenient service. According to the SleepyHead software, they had made changes a few days after I began using the machine. They didn't inform me about that incident. I just find it a little disconcerting that someone can log into my machine over the cell phone network and make changes. Could they or a hacker do that while I am using the machine? Heck, the US Dept. of Defense was just hacked and I am sure their security is much better than the local sleep study center.

Maybe I should select the airplane mode?????

Jeff
Yeah that is really lame in my opinion. If they did that to me I would change it to where I wanted it. Why would ur doc make such a big change. I am surprised he didn't increase it to say 12 or something. 15 is a huge change and if it were me my doc would have some explaining to do. My doc won't touch mine as I don't have compliance checks.
06-25-2015 02:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,331
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #8
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
FWIW, they should also increase your minimum pressure. A base pressure of 5 is not very functional for someone that requires more than 10 cmH2O to stent the airway.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
06-25-2015 08:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
foss Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 203
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: ResMed Autosense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View FFM
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: 9 - 13.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Marine Chemist, Science Teacher & Counselor, Internet Server Admistrator

Sex: Male
Location: Under The Rainbow

Post: #9
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
/*They only get summary data and compliance data transmitted, detailed data available on the SD card
I would be concerned making changes remotely, based on numbers alone without the availability of detailed data and face to face with the doctor */

I assumed that they receive detailed data, not just summary data. Almost all of my events are listed as obstructive, very little in the way of central. My leakage is never indicated as an issue. I sometimes wake up with leaks or itches and readjust the mask to obtain a good seal. The machine always reports that I have removed the mask several more times than I actually do. This weekend when I have more time to learn the sleepyhead software, I will export a graph and display it for comment.

When I asked the lady at the sleep center if there was a followup with the doc, she said it would be up to me to schedule one, they just send the data to the doc and she calls in the changes to make.

At the end of the first month, I am going to schedule an appointment and take along the data chip and see if she can read its data and receive advice from there.

Thank you, Jeff
06-25-2015 08:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Inspired Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 113
Joined: Dec 2015

Machine: resmed airsense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F & P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir heated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: planet earth

Post: #10
RE: Remote changes to my Airsense 10 settings
[quote='foss' pid='119296' dateline='1435190842']
My local CPAP machine provider called me today. They had sent my first two weeks data dump to my doctor for review. My Airsense 10 sends the data to them daily via a cell phone network. The doctor recommended an increase in my pressure setting since I was maxing out at the set maximum pressure of 10. My events per hour have been averaging about 8, down from a sleep study number of 82 per hour. The provider called me this afternoon an told me that they had increased my maximum pressure to 15. I was at work at the time.

This is a very convenient service. According to the SleepyHead software, they had made changes a few days after I began using the machine. They didn't inform me about that incident. I just find it a little disconcerting that someone can log into my machine over the cell phone network and make changes. Could they or a hacker do that while I am using the machine? Heck, the US Dept. of Defense was just hacked and I am sure their security is much better than the local sleep study center.

Maybe I should select the airplane mode?????

Jeff
[Maybe I should select the airplane mode?????]

If it will help you sleep better at night, just put it on airplane mode when using it. If your provider needs to access data for insurance (compliance) purposes, be sure to turn off airplane mode when you wake up.Sleep-well

Inspired
Bigwink
01-27-2016 07:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Newbie - need advice on settings and machine tmc712 11 160 Yesterday 09:54 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,379 Yesterday 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Dream Station Ramp and Pressure Settings knowoneuno 15 318 12-02-2016 06:50 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Dream Station Settings Autumnseer 15 488 11-26-2016 07:01 AM
Last Post: Weird Tolkienish Figure
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 492 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Who generally is in charge of your CPAP settings? Mezzrow 9 463 11-12-2016 01:47 AM
Last Post: blueelement2016
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 384 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)