Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] ResMed AirFit N20 - Mask Issue?
ResMed AirFit N20 - Mask Issue?
Newbie here.  I have a AirSense 10 AutoSet and my mask is a Resmed AirFit N20.  I'm on my 4th night of treatment.  I've noticed that each night the leak rate seems to be going up. It's now between 22.80 and 38.60. As a result, today I am feeling really tired. I think it might be a combination of a few things.  First, me being a side sleeper and the pillow (the one I sleep on), pushing into the mask and making it leak. The other I suspect maybe I am a mouth breather. I've woken up with a lot of drool the past few nights and my throat being a little irritated.  I've compensated by adjusting the humidity and temp on the machine which has helped some.

I'm attaching a copy of my sleepyhead from last night.  Is there anything that stands out to you guys? Maybe I should switch to a different mask? FF? My nostrils get irritated easily, so that is why I opted for a nasal mask vs the pillow.  Thanks.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: ResMed AirFit N20 - Mask Issue?
Hi MTGcarver,
Your leak rate isn’t that high that would cause the machine to have problems detecting apneas, but is high enough to cause you grief and disrupt your sleep.

Most folk find that sleeping on the edge of their bed pillow with the mask hanging off the side of the pillow helps.  

As far as a dry mouth, that is caused from mouth breathing.  You will need to address that by using a chin strap or a “soft” cervical collar.  This helps the jaw/mouth from opening and allowing air to escape.
The collar should not be too tall, about 2 to 3 inches.  Also, measure the circumference of your neck and add a few inches to allow for movement.  Check Amazon, as they sell many sizes.