Post Reply 
[Equipment] ResMed S-9 Auto -- set up (pressure problem)
Author Message
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #11
RE: ResMed S-9 Auto -- set up (pressure problem)
From S9 clinical manual: SD card
The SD card allows S9 devices to capture data. The S9 Series comes with the SD card already inserted and ready to be used.
Compliance data is also stored on the device, so if the card is lost, the data is not.
You can also create new treatment settings and transfer them to the patient’s device via the SD card.
S9 device settings are written to the SD card so that a ResMed PC application will present actual settings from the SD card rather than default values.
07-28-2014 10:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,907
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #12
RE: ResMed S-9 Auto -- set up (pressure problem)
(07-28-2014 04:41 PM)acc Wrote:  I've been very hesitant to take out the SD card. ... Does taking them out make them need to be re-programed.

No, removing the card should not affect the SD card. But be careful not to touch any metal connections, because even a tiny amount of static electricity which is too small to cause a spark (and too small to feel) may be able to damage the card.

Also, powering down the machine when it is reading or writing to the card may damage it. I usually do not turn off the machine until the Cool Down period has been completed, which I think is about 10 or 20 minutes after therapy has ended, just to be sure no more writing to the card is underway.

Supplier #2 sells a basic mechanical manometer for $35. I suppose there are digital manometers which would be more accurate but more expensive. But the basic mechanical one would be fine for using to compare the pressures delivered by your two machines. Absolute accuracy to the fraction of a cm H2O in pressure is not needed if you just want to see how different one S9 machine's pressure is compared to another. Good luck in tracking down the issue.

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
07-28-2014 10:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,907
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #13
RE: ResMed S-9 Auto -- set up (pressure problem)
(07-28-2014 12:40 PM)justMongo Wrote:  Perhaps a defective machine. That's a risk when buying from an individual.

If the machine was manufactured less than 27 months ago then ResMed will repair or replace for free under the original warrantee.

However, ResMed only accepts warrantee returns from DME companies, not from individual owners. Any DME company can get a faulty unit replaced; it does NOT need to be the original DME who purchased/sold the unit.

The current owner of the faulty unit can call ResMed Customer Service and tell ResMed the REF# and Serial #, and ResMed will let the owner know whether the unit is still under warrantee. If it is, then any helpful DME company (hopefully the one we are buying our supplies from) can call up ResMed and do a few troubleshooting steps over the phone and be given an RMA number as authorization to return the unit to ResMed for free repair. The present owner does not need to show a sales receipt or anything like that.

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 07-28-2014 11:05 PM by vsheline.)
07-28-2014 11:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
acc Offline

Members

Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9
CPAP Pressure: 12-16
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: OK

Post: #14
RE: ResMed S-9 Auto -- set up (pressure problem)
Thanks for all the input. It has been most helpful. We won't panic about the SD card.

I also tried to download the Sleepyhead software. It didn't download properly, so will try again. I'm not really concerned about the data as long as I can sleep at night.

After switching the machines around, we found the water container seal was not tight on the replacement machine.
08-01-2014 10:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,907
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #15
RE: ResMed S-9 Auto -- set up (pressure problem)
(08-01-2014 10:34 AM)acc Wrote:  After switching the machines around, we found the water container seal was not tight on the replacement machine.

The ResMed S9 humidifier lid gasket is a replaceable/orderable item. I think a ResMed recommends replacing the lid gasket occasionally, like maybe annually.

It is REF number 36892, H5i Flip Lid Seal. For example, Supplier #1 has this for about $8 US. (Link to Supplier List is at top of all forum pages.)

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 08-01-2014 11:22 AM by vsheline.)
08-01-2014 10:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #16
RE: ResMed S-9 Auto -- set up (pressure problem)
(07-28-2014 10:44 PM)vsheline Wrote:  Also, powering down the machine when it is reading or writing to the card may damage it.

Removing the card while data is being written may corrupt the data, but it's very unlikely to cause damage to the hardware. You might need to reformat the card if you take it out while it's being written.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
08-01-2014 03:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Problem with DreamWear Mask Judy1843 5 276 11-30-2016 04:03 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  New User Problem with BiPAP AVAPS - Part 1 jmayer180 35 1,274 11-27-2016 09:50 AM
Last Post: jmayer180
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 528 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Totally Confused by Airsense 10 Data - Centrals - Problem machine... ? mymontreal 20 990 11-20-2016 08:07 AM
Last Post: Rcgop
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 292 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [CPAP] ResMed Air Sense 10 Auto Off Problem Buddie43 16 3,236 11-12-2016 02:51 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,253 11-10-2016 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)