Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] ResMed S8 Autoset automatic on/off?
#1
Hi Folks,

I'm new to this board but I've been a CPAP user for over 18 years.

My question concerns the ResMed S8 Autoset Vantage. I would like to know if that device has the capability to turn on when the user starts breathing through the mask. Likewise, can it turn itself off when the mask is removed? If so, how do I set it up to do that.

I ask because the ON/OFF switch on my S8 started going south several months ago, taking up to nine depressions before it would turn on. Yesterday my aging S8 (7.5 years old) was replaced by a ResMed S9 Autoset. If the S8 can be set to automatically turn itself on/off, then I will keep it as a "combat spare" in case my S9 hiccups.

Please advise.

Best regards,
Dolphin Jockey
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
(11-08-2014, 12:50 AM)Dolphin Jockey Wrote: My question concerns the ResMed S8 Autoset Vantage. I would like to know if that device has the capability to turn on when the user starts breathing through the mask. Likewise, can it turn itself off when the mask is removed? If so, how do I set it up to do that.
Welcome the forum, Dolphin Jockey
Its called "SmartStart", the machine start automatically when you breathe into the mask and stop automatically when you takes the mask off

I know SmartStart available on S8 AutoSet, not sure about S8 AutoSet Vantage but you can find out from the clinical manual, available via email from the link at the top of the page "CPAP Setup Manuals"
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Hi Dolphin Jockey,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(11-08-2014, 03:56 AM)zonk Wrote:
(11-08-2014, 12:50 AM)Dolphin Jockey Wrote: My question concerns the ResMed S8 Autoset Vantage. I would like to know if that device has the capability to turn on when the user starts breathing through the mask. Likewise, can it turn itself off when the mask is removed? If so, how do I set it up to do that.
Welcome the forum, Dolphin Jockey
Its called "SmartStart", the machine start automatically when you breathe into the mask and stop automatically when you takes the mask off

I know SmartStart available on S8 AutoSet, not sure about S8 AutoSet Vantage but you can find out from the clinical manual, available via email from the link at the top of the page "CPAP Setup Manuals"


Thanks a bunch for the prompt and informative reply. I'll take a look at the clinician manual. I'd hate to throw out an otherwise good CPAP I've used for years if there's a viable work-around for the troublesome ON/OFF switch.

Best regards,
Dolphin Jockey
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(11-08-2014, 11:02 AM)Dolphin Jockey Wrote:
(11-08-2014, 03:56 AM)zonk Wrote:
(11-08-2014, 12:50 AM)Dolphin Jockey Wrote: My question concerns the ResMed S8 Autoset Vantage. I would like to know if that device has the capability to turn on when the user starts breathing through the mask. Likewise, can it turn itself off when the mask is removed? If so, how do I set it up to do that.
Welcome the forum, Dolphin Jockey
Its called "SmartStart", the machine start automatically when you breathe into the mask and stop automatically when you takes the mask off

I know SmartStart available on S8 AutoSet, not sure about S8 AutoSet Vantage but you can find out from the clinical manual, available via email from the link at the top of the page "CPAP Setup Manuals"


Thanks a bunch for the prompt and informative reply. I'll take a look at the clinician manual. I'd hate to throw out an otherwise good CPAP I've used for years if there's a viable work-around for the troublesome ON/OFF switch.

Best regards,
Dolphin Jockey

To follow-up, I was able to get into the clinician menu and found the setting for SmartStart. That's the good news. The bad news is that it was shown as being OFF and there was NO option to change that setting. Makes me wonder if there is another related setting which, at the moment, disables an option to change the SmartStart setting. It's a puzzlement.

Best regards,
Dolphin Jockey
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Try this while in clinician mode, rotate the dial until "Options" is highlighted, press down on the knob, rotate the knob until "Smart Start" is highlighted, press the knob down and Smart Start will change colors, rotate the knob to "ON", press the knob again to exit and save the new setting, rotate the knob to "Home" and press down to exit the clinician mode and test for effect.

It works that way in S9 AutoSet so it's worth a shot.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Surferdude,

The S8 is old school. No knob to turn and different menu navigation. I do not remember if my S8 Auto has Smart Start or not. I will look and get back.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(11-08-2014, 11:54 AM)surferdude2 Wrote: Try this while in clinician mode, rotate the dial until "Options" is highlighted, press down on the knob, rotate the knob until "Smart Start" is highlighted, press the knob down and Smart Start will change colors, rotate the knob to "ON", press the knob again to exit and save the new setting, rotate the knob to "Home" and press down to exit the clinician mode and test for effect.

It works that way in S9 AutoSet so it's worth a shot.

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

You are correct about the S9 but there is NO correlation between the S9 controls and those on the S8. The S8 has five buttons: ON/OFF, UP, DOWN, LEFT, and RIGHT. Nothing to turn, per se.

When setting options on the S8, the arrow keys are used to navigate to the desired parameter. If the machine allows changes to a parameter the word CHANGE appears above the LEFT arrow button. On my S8, when at the SmartStart option, the word CHANGE does NOT appear; hence, it *apparently* cannot be changed.

Best regards,
Dolphin Jockey
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(11-08-2014, 11:27 AM)Dolphin Jockey Wrote: To follow-up, I was able to get into the clinician menu and found the setting for SmartStart. That's the good news. The bad news is that it was shown as being OFF and there was NO option to change that setting. Makes me wonder if there is another related setting which, at the moment, disables an option to change the SmartStart setting. It's a puzzlement.

Hi Dolphin Jockey, welcome to the forum!

There is a setting for Mask Type, which for most accurate therapy I think needs to be set correctly.

My recollection is that on the S8 series machines, SmartStart only worked when the machine is set to certain types of masks. For example, perhaps it worked on Full Face mask type but not on nasal pillows mask type. The details should be mentioned somewhere in the Clinician setup manual.


Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
I've got an S8 Autoset II that I occasionally use with a Mirage Quattro when I'm congested. If I leave the mask type on nasal and use the Quattro, the SmartStart feature sort-of works but is not dependable. Mainly, it shuts off at random times while I'm using it. Unfortunately, I use the Quattro so rarely that I usually forget to switch the mask type.


Edit: @Dolphin Jockey: PM sent.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Dreamstation vs ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet, I got to try both here's my thoughts Moonlight Graham 4 132 3 hours ago
Last Post: Sleeprider
Wink [Pressure] ResMed S9 Autoset Locked 2beatCHF 4 109 02-22-2017, 10:28 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed S8 Autoset Vantage Pressure results question D.D. 3 180 01-26-2017, 09:29 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed Autoset S10 awakens me with high pressure - won't ease off, even after waking marco7222 10 1,549 01-26-2017, 10:02 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Cloggd Nose elling with ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet edmund36 7 725 12-17-2016, 03:31 PM
Last Post: edmund36
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,904 11-29-2016, 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Is my ResMed S9 Autoset dying? gkainz 10 820 11-09-2016, 11:35 AM
Last Post: gkainz

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.