Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] ResMed S9 Auto Set
Question 
ResMed S9 Auto Set
Hello I am new to this stiff.
I have a new S9 Auto Set machine and have a whistle sound only when I exhale. And I am sure it is not coming from the tube or the mask. Is this normal on this machine? It works well otherwise.
Thanks for any help.
- Dave
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: ResMed S9 Auto Set
(01-06-2013, 12:15 PM)Dave2 Wrote: I have a new S9 Auto Set machine and have a whistle sound only when I exhale.

Hi Dave, Welcome

This has been discussed here: Thread-Resmed-S9-whistle

So far, nobody has been able to isolate the exact cause of the whistle sound yet.

Ren
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi Dave2 and WELCOME! to the forum.!
What Ren said.
Best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
(01-06-2013, 12:15 PM)Dave2 Wrote: Hello I am new to this stiff.
I have a new S9 Auto Set machine and have a whistle sound only when I exhale. And I am sure it is not coming from the tube or the mask. Is this normal on this machine? It works well otherwise.
Thanks for any help.
- Dave
my S9 make a slight noise at exhale. I keep a fan next to bed
some people notice the noise while others say the S9 is very quiet

few suggestion might help reduce noise levels
place mouse pad or other foam under the machine
place machine below bed level or/and use longer hose
replace filter, clean filter can prevent dust and debris buildup inside the machine

people hear sound and different frequencies differently ... some are more sensitive to sounds than others

keep in mind that the sound we perceive as a whistling sound can be exacerbated when breathing on it while awake
and noise may become more obvious

all machines makes some kind of noise
imo the S9 is an awesome machine