Post Reply 
[Equipment] ResMed S9 Humidity Level
Author Message
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,988
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #1
ResMed S9 Humidity Level
I have a ResMed S9 VPAP Auto machine and I'm trying to set the humidity level. I don't have the heated hose. I set the humidity level to 3.5, the warm up function works and heats up the water, but when I wake up in the morning the water in the tub is stone cold.

Is there another setting somewhere that I'm missing?

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-01-2014 09:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
darkcat Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: resmed s9
Mask Type: Nasal prongs
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P 10
Humidifier: s9
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA, Ohio

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
Had this as well a wile back so I asked ResMed. It is running auto mode for humidity. The sensor in the unit is only warming up the water to compensate for the ambiant humidity. You can fix this by setting it in manule through the locked settings. Now this is on an S9 elite. So it may operate difrently on the VPAP. Setting it in manual keeps a constant current flow to the heating pad under the water. Hope this info helps.
07-01-2014 10:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,988
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
Thanks, Darkcat. I think you're right. It is the same on the VPAP auto and I will give the manual setting a try.

It's confusing the way the instructions are written in the manuals. My guess is that if you plug in a heated hose additional functions get enabled and additional menu items appear. For example, the Clinician's Guide mentions temperature settings but I cannot find any menu items on the machine, and neither are any shown in the Clinician's Guide, that allow me to set the temperature. It also says that if the temperature is set to off then the humidifier won't come on. It's all very confusing to me.

I get the same feeling of confusion whenever I try to use a Mac computer. Too-funny

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-01-2014 10:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
(07-01-2014 09:04 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  I have a ResMed S9 VPAP Auto machine and I'm trying to set the humidity level. I don't have the heated hose. I set the humidity level to 3.5, the warm up function works and heats up the water, but when I wake up in the morning the water in the tub is stone cold.

Is there another setting somewhere that I'm missing?
The only setting available if not using the heated hose (ClimateLine) is hose type selection, SlimLine or standard
The machine recognize when the heated hose attached , and display 'ClimateLine enabled' on the screen, that gives you other options, explained here: http://www.resmed.com/au/assets/document...lo_eng.pdf

From Resmed - H5i vs. H4i
Why does the H5i heater plate not seem to get as hot as the H4 iheater plate? Is this normal?

Yes this is normal and does not affect performance. The H4i™ is not software-controlled with the heater temperature based solely on the humidifier setting and so remains constant if the humidifier setting is not changed. If set at the same humidifier setting all year round, the H4i uses approximately the same amount of water every night, regardless of changes in ambient conditions or device flow.

The H5i's heater plate temperature is software-controlled. This means that even at a fixed humidifier setting, the heater plate temperature changes to ensure constant absolute humidity delivered to the user. The heater plate temperature changes depending on ambient (room) conditions, the humidifier setting and device flow.
If set at the same humidifier setting all year round, the H5i will use significantly less water than the H4i in humid conditions than it will in dry conditions. Therefore, the amount of water left in the H5i tub after use is not the best indication of the unit's functioning.

All this is fine in print but my nose is not software controlled, dumb system if you ask me. I use ClimateLine all year around set on auto mode, adjust temp depend on room air, up on cold nights and down on hot nights
07-02-2014 04:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,988
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
Well, I don't have the climate line hose, I have the humidifier on "manual" with a maximum setting of 6.0, I don't notice the water getting warm unless I preheat, and very little water is missing from the tub in the morning.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-02-2014 08:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,064
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
When the Climateline is not attached, there is no "temperature" setting. 6 is the max, right?

The manual setting bypasses the "ambient humidity" sensor and heats the water anyway. Or should.

If it is not, there may be something wrong with the humidifier. Switch it with the other machine's humidifier. As long as they are both S9s, the humidifier should both be H5i.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-02-2014 11:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,988
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
(07-02-2014 11:01 AM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  When the Climateline is not attached, there is no "temperature" setting. 6 is the max, right?

Yup.

Quote:The manual setting bypasses the "ambient humidity" sensor and heats the water anyway. Or should.

I must have been out of it last night. I thought I had set it to manual but when I checked it was set to "patient" or "auto" or something. So then I set it to "manual". Then I woke up and noticed it wasn't warm so I turned it up from 3.5 to 6.0. I don't think it got warm but I will leave it on 6.0 all night tonight and see for sure.

Quote:If it is not, there may be something wrong with the humidifier. Switch it with the other machine's humidifier. As long as they are both S9s, the humidifier should both be H5i.

They are. But the thing is, the warm up function works very well. I will swap them out if all else fails.

I wish I could update the firmware. I have a feeling that may be the problem.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
07-02-2014 01:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,005
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #8
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
I do not remember what your other machine was but if the tank is suitable should be no problem. I am pretty sure that the warm-up function is controlled by the blower unit.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
07-02-2014 03:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #9
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
(07-02-2014 01:43 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  I thought I had set it to manual but when I checked it was set to "patient" or "auto" or something. So then I set it to "manual".
I think you,re mixing up, "manual, auto, patient" are Cimate Control options and not relevant to you, as you,re not using the ClimateLine
[I choose "patient" as gives me the option to play with it from home screen menu]

From the sound of it, your humidifier is working okay, water feel warm on pre-heat, lights changes blue/orange and using some water during the night. You can adjust humidity level 1-6, 6 is the highest, hose cosy/fleece cover helps
07-02-2014 04:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #10
RE: ResMed S9 Humidity Level
(07-02-2014 03:57 PM)PaytonA Wrote:  I do not remember what your other machine was but if the tank is suitable should be no problem.
Sleepster old machine is PRS1, S9 and PRS1 are like 'chalk and cheese' Too-funny
07-02-2014 04:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Question: sound level on Resmed S9 WITHOUT humidifier, compared to Remstar 560 kowlooner 8 207 11-29-2016 10:51 AM
Last Post: kowlooner
Question Change Humidity Level Seasonally txpap 9 497 11-21-2016 06:58 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  pressure vs EPR vs hypopnea vs humidity vs congestion Rick76599 6 393 10-15-2016 06:08 PM
Last Post: Rick76599
  Odd Low Level Leak richcrab 6 329 10-08-2016 09:14 PM
Last Post: justMongo
Smile First-time Bi-Level user to be - Need Help! TeddyBear777 8 490 09-27-2016 06:38 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Has anyone developed a cough from humidity being set too low? NickNick 7 542 09-13-2016 04:31 PM
Last Post: BadGoodDeb
  (Another Newbie) Mask Humidity janeaverage 4 451 09-11-2016 07:20 PM
Last Post: JudgeMental

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)