Post Reply 
[Equipment] ResMed S9 changes mode
Author Message
geoffleach Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 40
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: ResMed AutoSet S9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8cm
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Mountain Ranch CA USA

Post: #1
ResMed S9 changes mode
So, I'm peacefully enjoying the air from my S9. Suddenly the air supply stops, as if I had shut off the S9. Ripping off the mask as I gasp for air, I look down at the S9, and see that it is flashing (1 sec on, three off) the ResMed logo. The logo displayed when first powered-on, but then it does not flash. To make a long story short, I discovered t hat the only solution to the problem was to unplug the unit, wait a minute, and then restore the power. At that point the unit picks up where it left off. That is, in the supply mode.

Vendor has no idea. "Send in the unit and we'll check it out." Yeah, sure.

Any ideas?
03-30-2014 08:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
drgrimes Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 235
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: S9 Resmed Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Philips Dreamwear
Humidifier: resmed
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
Hmmm, that is not normal. If this problem occurs more than once, I would return it and get it checked out. That is not an acceptable problem. Does it do this regularly? Maybe there was something unusual with your power, a surge or temporary outage.
03-30-2014 08:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PollCat Offline
Apnea Board Polling Administrator
Monitors

Posts: 1,575
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: H5i Cleanable with ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 18
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAP-ing since 1995; Type 2 Diabetes; Chronic Asthma; Gout

Sex: Male
Location: Westfield, IN

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
You could try contacting ResMed directly and see if they have any ideas. Link to ResMed Customer Service
If you choose to send it back to the DME/vendor, make sure they loan you a machine to replace the S9.


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.
INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-30-2014 09:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Peter_C Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,308
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: System One DS960HS
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro "MED"
Humidifier: Attached
CPAP Pressure: Auto mode-script is:15/3/3
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic Other Software

Other Comments: Severe obstructive sleep apnea 1999/Just got an ASV machine

Sex: Male
Location: Akron, Ohio USA

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
Umm - one time I turned on 'reminders' only to walk into the bedroom to see the light on my 'S8' (older model than yours) flashing on and off like it was possessed! Unplugging it stopped it. I then went into the menus and turned 'reminders' off...

Just a possible thought?

*I* am not a DOCTOR or any type of Health Care Professional. My thoughts/suggestions/ideas are strictly only my opinions.

"Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you. Jesus Christ and the American Soldier. One died for your Soul, the other for your Freedom."
03-30-2014 10:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
c0reDump Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 157
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air
Humidifier: H5i (distilled)
CPAP Pressure: APAP 9-17cmH2O
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: TX

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
The AutoSet is a computer, and like all computers / software, it has bugs. It sounds like it did get into a reboot loop for some reason (could be a bug, or could be related to power flickers / outages like drgrimes suggested). Were any of your clocks blinking in the morning to indicate a temporary power outage?

I've not personally had this problem with my AutoSet.

Something you can do is, check all 3 power connections to ensure they are tight:
1) 110V plug at the wall
2) connector going into the power supply
3) connector at the back of the S9 itself, coming from the power supply
03-30-2014 10:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
geoffleach Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 40
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: ResMed AutoSet S9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8cm
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Mountain Ranch CA USA

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
(03-30-2014 08:58 AM)drgrimes Wrote:  Hmmm, that is not normal. If this problem occurs more than once, I would return it and get it checked out. That is not an acceptable problem. Does it do this regularly? Maybe there was something unusual with your power, a surge or temporary outage.

The second time in 9 month's operation. Power glitch is possible, but unlikely, as I'm off-grid and control the power.
03-30-2014 11:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,838
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
So, you're on Solar with converters to give you 60 Hz AC power.
I suspect your power. The ResMed power brick is a switcher and does not like discontinuities in the AC line.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-30-2014 11:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,907
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #8
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
(03-30-2014 11:32 AM)geoffleach Wrote:  The second time in 9 month's operation. Power glitch is possible, but unlikely, as I'm off-grid and control the power.

I suggest using a large (heavy duty) surge suppressor.

Or, have you tried an Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)? I use a standard large-ish (1300 Volt-Amp) UPS to protect against momentary power outages. I think it may have cost me about $200 or less at Costco.

I wouldn't try to use a really cheap one, though. Not sure if a poorly designed model might damage the CPAP machine.

The best UPS's are the Pure Sinewave models, but I don't use one because those are much more expensive than the commonly-available ones sold at department stores everywhere for a few hundred dollars.

Take care
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
03-30-2014 06:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
geoffleach Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 40
Joined: Jul 2013

Machine: ResMed AutoSet S9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8cm
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Mountain Ranch CA USA

Post: #9
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
(03-30-2014 06:17 PM)vsheline Wrote:  
(03-30-2014 11:32 AM)geoffleach Wrote:  The second time in 9 month's operation. Power glitch is possible, but unlikely, as I'm off-grid and control the power.

I suggest using a large (heavy duty) surge suppressor.

Or, have you tried an Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS)? I use a standard large-ish (1300 Volt-Amp) UPS to protect against momentary power outages. I think it may have cost me about $200 or less at Costco.

I wouldn't try to use a really cheap one, though. Not sure if a poorly designed model might damage the CPAP machine.

The best UPS's are the Pure Sinewave models, but I don't use one because those are much more expensive than the commonly-available ones sold at department stores everywhere for a few hundred dollars.

Thanks for the suggestion. In fact, I do have the equivalent hardware in place.
03-30-2014 06:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,907
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #10
RE: ResMed S9 changes mode
(03-30-2014 06:48 PM)geoffleach Wrote:  In fact, I do have the equivalent hardware in place.

Surge suppressor, or large-ish UPS? If UPS, did the UPS show any alarms or status messages that it had seen a power interruption?

I would suspect power issues as most likely, either a loose connection somewhere in your cords or house power wiring.

Any sign of looseness in any of the three power connections (at wall, at power supply on power inlet side, or at back of blower? Especially the power connector at the back of the unit, which can become intermittent if overused to disconnect power from the unit daily. I have learned to avoid excessively unplugging the cord at the back of the blower.

If the air intake were to have gotten blocked by a loose sheet of paper or plastic wrapper or whatever, leading to an overheating malfunction inside the blower unit, I think you would have noticed a hot/scorched smell, but you've not mentioned anything like that.

If the bed covers or something were to get on top of the power supply and caused it to have overheated, I'm not sure what would happen. Any chance that the power supply got covered up and overheated?

If there seems no chance that it was intermittent power or blocked air intake or overheated power supply, I would call ResMed customer service and ask that the unit be replaced as unreliable, and see what they say. You might be pleasantly surprised.

ResMed does not accept returns directly from end users. But they will accept a return from any DME you are working with (any DME -- does NOT need to be the original DME which bought the unit from ResMed or provided you the unit).

Good luck!

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 03-31-2014 09:31 AM by vsheline.)
03-31-2014 09:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question A10 autoset in CPAP mode- all data recorded? PreciousRoy 3 241 10-31-2016 04:25 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Dreamstation - CFlex or aflex in auto mode stephennic 9 872 08-29-2016 07:20 PM
Last Post: NorthernGuy
  Is Resmed S9 Autoset mode suitable for central sleep apnea? napnaptime 46 5,902 07-16-2016 09:39 PM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  S10 data in Airplane mode jimw159 3 317 07-03-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed A10 Autoset data in CPAP mode rem52 20 1,704 05-07-2016 09:32 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  ResMed AirSens 10 AutoSet for Her CPAP mode for male users Roy289 9 827 04-25-2016 12:29 PM
Last Post: Adoniscmj
  Clinician mode for Intellipap 2 AZCraig 2 623 01-17-2016 12:50 PM
Last Post: vsheline

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)