Post Reply 
[Equipment] Resetting a Goodnight 420e
Author Message
buslover Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: Puritan Bennet 420e
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 7.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #1
Resetting a Goodnight 420e
Hello,
First time user here Smile I have been using a Puritan Bennett Goodnight 420e for approx. 10 years. The machine is quiet, reliable and my husband and I sleep so much better because of it. Lately I have taken to snoring again and I think I need to raise the pressure a bit. We have the manual and know how to access the controls, but the pressure setting seems to be locked out as the up and down arrows aren't on that screen when we access it. Does anyone know how to get around this? Please help, my husband has been on the futon the past few nights!
08-31-2014 07:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DeepBreathing Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 2,291
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP: 9 - 15 PS: 3 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post: #2
RE: Resetting a Goodnight 420e
G'day Buslover, welcome to the forum.

The quick description to access the clinician menu is as follows:

Puritan Bennett GoodKnight 420 Series: Make sure the CPAP machine is plugged in, then find the secret button beneath the "Go" in the word GoodKnight which appears just above the LCD screen. Press the secret button and the Information Access button simultaneously for 2 or 3 seconds. The CPAP machine will now be in the provider setup mode. Press the Information Access button to cycle through the list of adjustable settings, and use the arrow buttons to make adjustments.

You can find this information and request the clinician manual from http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual Just do a search within that page. However, if you've been using the machine for 10 years, does that suggest you haven't had a recent sleep study? Our bodies change over time (not usually for the better, at least in my case) and treatment requirements can change accordingly. I'd urge you to consider having a sleep study if it's a long time since you had one.

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-01-2014 04:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
buslover Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: Puritan Bennet 420e
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 7.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Resetting a Goodnight 420e
Hi,
Thanks for the reply. We have the manual and I used the instructions to find the windows that show the settings. In the manual it states that only the windows with up and down arrows showing in them are adjustable. The window for pressure has no arrows and will not respond when the correct buttons are pushed. So our guess is the unit was somehow "locked" when it was set by the clinician. My question was, does anyone know how to circumvent that issue?
You are right, I do need a new sleep study, but our health insurance just changed and we have a $6500 deductible. So any sleep study will be out of pocket, which is something we can't afford right now.
09-01-2014 10:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: Resetting a Goodnight 420e
Hi buslover,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hopefully you can get to your pressure settings and change them.
Hang in there for more suggestions and best of luck to you as you continue CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
09-01-2014 12:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Help (Resetting Pressures) Linda57 9 501 08-19-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: icyura10
  Why is my machine resetting itself? wxmcpo 11 1,568 09-14-2015 04:03 PM
Last Post: zonk
  Aircurve 10 resetting hourly usage. Please help. JVinNE 0 635 05-30-2015 11:48 AM
Last Post: JVinNE
  [Equipment] GoodKnight 420E VZCPAP 2 982 05-13-2015 11:06 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] puritan bennett goodnight 420g mechanic 1 714 01-11-2015 10:24 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Question [Equipment]  Goodnight 318 CPAP Machine ret-doc 9 3,913 03-26-2014 01:28 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  resetting ResMed pressure range above 95% pressure ekim 31 6,351 11-13-2013 08:24 AM
Last Post: ekim

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)