Post Reply 
[Equipment] Resmed APAP
Author Message
Mr1hundred Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2014

Machine: APAP
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: APAP
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Resmed APAP
When i was on trial i had a respironics apap machine. When i wouldnt breath it would immediately kick in and blast air into my mask, it worked well. Now i have a resmed apap machine, when i stop breathing it takes some time and it doesnt blast air, it sort of pulsates weakly. Is there a way to change it from this pulsating BS to the blast of air that worked.

PS: this resmed apap machine isnt working for me, i just woke up going to bed at 12:30am waking up at 1:30pm, sleeping for 13 hours and feeling like sh*t
04-16-2014 12:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #2
RE: Resmed APAP
Sorry to hear your Resmed isn't doing what you expect it to do. What model do you have? Perhaps it needs to have it's settings changed, but it's kind of hard for us to know based on what you've posted. What pressures etc did the people set it at when they gave it to you?
04-16-2014 01:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Mr1hundred Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2014

Machine: APAP
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: APAP
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Resmed APAP
Im not sure what model it is, it just says resmed on it but it looks like the first pic if you were to google 'resmed' (i cant post links)
i think she set it from like 6-14 psi
oh but when i went for the sleep study, she said i only needed 8psi, so the pressure isnt a problem
(This post was last modified: 04-16-2014 01:44 PM by Mr1hundred.)
04-16-2014 01:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
robysue Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,220
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #4
RE: Resmed APAP
Quote:When i was on trial i had a respironics apap machine. When i wouldnt breath it would immediately kick in and blast air into my mask, it worked well. Now i have a resmed apap machine, when i stop breathing it takes some time and it doesnt blast air, it sort of pulsates weakly. Is there a way to change it from this pulsating BS to the blast of air that worked.

Sounds like what you were and are noticing are the Central Apnea Detection algorithms on the two machines.

The Philips Respironics CA detection algorithm uses very short, but somewhat intense "pressure pulses." These are NOT designed to make you breathe (the System One APAP is NOT a ventilator); rather the System One uses the back pressure signal from the pressure pulse to determine whether the apnea is a central apnea (airway is CLEAR or unobstructed) or an obstructive apnea (the airway is blocked or OBSTRUCTED).

The Resmed CA detection algorithm works differently. Rather than sending out one or more "pressure pulses", the Resmed S9 uses a "forced oscillation technique" (FOT) to determine whether the airway is CLEAR or OBSTRUCTED. The FOT uses a set of small oscillations in the pressure over about a 4-10 second period and they feel like very small pulsations; the S9 uses the back pressure signal from the oscillating pressure to determine whether the apnea is a central apnea (airway is CLEAR or unobstructed) or an obstructive apnea (the airway is blocked or OBSTRUCTED).

There's no way to make a Resmed S9 APAP's CA detection algorithm feel like the PR System One APAP's CA detection algorithm. If it means that much to you, you might see if the DME is willing to exchange the S9 for a System One.
(This post was last modified: 04-16-2014 01:45 PM by robysue.)
04-16-2014 01:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: Resmed APAP
Hi Mr1hundred,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Sorry to hear you are having problems with your machine.
Which model Resmed do you have? You should find the name of it next to the on/off button.
Hang in there for more suggestions and best of luck to you.

trish6hundred
04-16-2014 01:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #6
RE: Resmed APAP
(04-16-2014 01:43 PM)Mr1hundred Wrote:  Im not sure what model it is, it just says resmed on it but it looks like the first pic if you were to google 'resmed' (i cant post links)
i think she set it from like 6-14 psi
oh but when i went for the sleep study, she said i only needed 8psi, so the pressure isnt a problem
[Image: img_usage.jpg]
[Image: ResMed%203.jpg]

ResMed makes two S9 Auto-PAP models ... AutoSet and Escape Auto
S9 AutoSet is an AutoSet and S9 Escape Auto is an APAP
AutoSet and APAP are two completely different machines, yet they look alike
Central apnea detection only available in S9 Autoset and S9 Elite

btw, CPAP pressure measured in cmh2o
04-16-2014 03:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Medicare Advantage Coverage for APAP Evie 3 174 11-30-2016 08:22 PM
Last Post: Mike1953
  cpap and apap not effictive Ezil71 109 3,071 11-05-2016 11:19 AM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Unable to clear throat while on APAP NorthernGuy 5 298 10-17-2016 08:18 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Apap I_will_never_sleep_again 2 273 10-14-2016 02:58 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Travel to Australia with Apap. Newbee2016 10 528 09-24-2016 12:06 PM
Last Post: SharonN
  Looking for complete list of AUTO apap's compatible with Sleepyhead Lanco 9 468 09-21-2016 08:08 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Had to STOP APAP Roy289 13 1,036 09-18-2016 08:52 AM
Last Post: Roy289

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)