Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
#1
Exclaimation 
Hi,
First like to say G'day to everyone, first forum I have joined. I live in Western Australia, equipment and cost is quite high here, Overpriced and hard to get service.
I was diagnosed with sleep apnea in January this year after a sleep study, and got a Philips Respironics RemStar Pro with C-Flex+ (451P), the setting I was given for the pressure was 13.5.
I was orignally assessed using the Resmed S9, to find out the pressures and settings
I like the S9 auto much more than the Remstar, a lot easier to sleep with it as it adjusted the pressure to my requirements. The Price of the S9 in Australia was Au$2500,(roughly the same as the US Dollar).
I was pointed in the direction of 1800CPAP, in California, where I actually bought the Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset for US$990 including freight, hell of a difference.
Got it 2 days ago and seem to have got it working ok, just one question when it is set to 'Autoset", does this mean it will automatically adjust the therapy whilst I am wearing it, or I have to set minimum and Maximum pressures.
Thanks and RegardsSmile
Bob
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Did you get hit for duty/GST because with the exchange rate it would have been over the AUS$1000 threshold?
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(09-03-2014, 08:23 AM)Skypilot Wrote: Did you get hit for duty/GST because with the exchange rate it would have been over the AUS$1000 threshold?

Hi, no there was no import duty the total excluding freight was AU$990
(09-03-2014, 09:15 AM)metro5053 Wrote:
(09-03-2014, 08:23 AM)Skypilot Wrote: Did you get hit for duty/GST because with the exchange rate it would have been over the AUS$1000 threshold?

Hi, no there was no import duty the total excluding freight was AU$990

Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(09-03-2014, 06:30 AM)metro5053 Wrote: just one question when it is set to 'Autoset", does this mean it will automatically adjust the therapy whilst I am wearing it, or I have to set minimum and Maximum pressures.
Thanks and RegardsSmile
Bob

Yes, it will indeed adjust as needs change. The S9 Auto is a marvelous piece of equipment and the Cadillac of the CPAP's.

You can choose to use it "as is" and accept the factory setting for minimum & maximum pressures (4 & 20) or you may choose to set it differently. Some will advise you to leave it alone if it is working and giving you >5 AHI per hour. I consider it prudent to set it to my individual requirements since I think I'm more in tune to my condition than all others.

I chose to set mine more to my requirements rather than allow the factory minimums to dictate the range of control. I did this based on my knowledge that it was folly to start out in a pressure so low that I could never benefit from it. I chose to set the minimum to a point just below the response level I had witnessed on the lowest pressure correction made when the S9 adjusted for the first event. That turned out to be 8 cm wc. Then I set the maximum to just above the highest reading that was ever recorded by the S9 in a typical former run. That turned out to be 16 cm wc. That makes my setting at 8 ~ 16 and it works very well for me. The advantage of having the lower setting bumped up is that the first event is likely getting better response time. The advantage of having the maximum pressure lowered is that when testing the mask for leaks, using the "Mask Test" feature, it is not subjected to a pressure so high that it forces me to tighten the straps unduly tight. Preparing for a pressure of 20 cm wc can make for a rough night's infliction of mask injury to my face. With the 16 cm wc setting, the machine automatically tests the mask at 16 cm wc (not 20 cm) and it's easy to get the mask leak free at that setting.

Some may argue that I am limiting the machine's ability to help me when it may actually need the full 20 cm wc pressure. I say I will see that on the software that I use to monitor my progress and adjust accordingly. In the meantime, I'll enjoy the benefits of the lower setting.

Since your pressure recommendation is very similar to mine, you can reasonably expect that my settings might be a good starting place for you. Stick around for other opinions and make your own decision based on what you think sounds best. Sometimes there is no definite right and wrong but there is always a way that is best suited for the individual and only you can determine that by weighing all the advice given my others who are down the road ahead of you.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
oops, double post
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Surfie's right on about the settings issue. 4 and 20 is only good for blackbird pie recipes. In your case you already know you have a therapeutic pressure of 13.5. So by setting the S9 to a minimum pressure of 8, or even 10, and a max pressure of 16 you will have a nice range for the machine to play with. Then watch the results using the Resmed Rescan software and see how you do. If you haven't already installed that software you can get it from http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...d=99#pid99
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
BTW,Welcome I neglected to do that...Dont-know

One more point that you may consider; set the EPR to #2 initially. I found the #3 setting was unduly disturbing by the pressure thump it created and setting it to #2 made that go away. If you later find that you are having trouble exhaling against your pressure settings, you can always change it to #3. In time, when you totally accept and adjust to the mask and pressures, you'll find that the EPR feature has little value.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
And a 'nother thing...since you're using the newer Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset, which does all the S9 auto can and more, you might want to stick your nose into the ongoing thread about those two units: Lookie Here

Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Hi metro5053,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
What has been said so far.
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
Hi,
just like to say thanks to all the advice and help that you all have given me, at least now I have a start to understanding the Machine and the settings, it can only get better
Thnanks and Regards
Bob
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Sad [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 noticeable noise hungrycactus 5 319 02-10-2017, 05:00 AM
Last Post: nanbar
  Can someone with a Resmed Airsense 10 help me with preventing rainout? Ihaveapnea 19 1,041 02-04-2017, 10:59 PM
Last Post: shylock31
  ResMed Airsense 10 - very dry mouth dnthomas 4 374 02-03-2017, 05:52 AM
Last Post: pupcamper
  Resmed S8 Autoset Vantage Pressure results question D.D. 3 170 01-26-2017, 09:29 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Resmed Autoset S10 awakens me with high pressure - won't ease off, even after waking marco7222 10 1,488 01-26-2017, 10:02 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 menu item: Pressure Relief vs. EPR darianmiller 3 427 01-24-2017, 07:31 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 34 4,165 01-24-2017, 05:40 AM
Last Post: nanbar

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.