Post Reply 
[Equipment] Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Author Message
metro5053 Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Resmed airsense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResmedAirfit F10
Humidifier: Resmed airsense 10
CPAP Pressure: median 13.5
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Western Australia

Post: #1
Exclaimation Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Hi,
First like to say G'day to everyone, first forum I have joined. I live in Western Australia, equipment and cost is quite high here, Overpriced and hard to get service.
I was diagnosed with sleep apnea in January this year after a sleep study, and got a Philips Respironics RemStar Pro with C-Flex+ (451P), the setting I was given for the pressure was 13.5.
I was orignally assessed using the Resmed S9, to find out the pressures and settings
I like the S9 auto much more than the Remstar, a lot easier to sleep with it as it adjusted the pressure to my requirements. The Price of the S9 in Australia was Au$2500,(roughly the same as the US Dollar).
I was pointed in the direction of 1800CPAP, in California, where I actually bought the Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset for US$990 including freight, hell of a difference.
Got it 2 days ago and seem to have got it working ok, just one question when it is set to 'Autoset", does this mean it will automatically adjust the therapy whilst I am wearing it, or I have to set minimum and Maximum pressures.
Thanks and RegardsSmile
Bob
09-03-2014 06:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Skypilot Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 96
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: ResMed Hire
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AIRFITâ„¢ P10 nasal pilow
Humidifier: H5i Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Doc said to try 12; was 14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: The land of Nod is but a dream.

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Canberra, Australia

Post: #2
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Did you get hit for duty/GST because with the exchange rate it would have been over the AUS$1000 threshold?
09-03-2014 08:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
metro5053 Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Resmed airsense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResmedAirfit F10
Humidifier: Resmed airsense 10
CPAP Pressure: median 13.5
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Western Australia

Post: #3
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
(09-03-2014 08:23 AM)Skypilot Wrote:  Did you get hit for duty/GST because with the exchange rate it would have been over the AUS$1000 threshold?

Hi, no there was no import duty the total excluding freight was AU$990
(09-03-2014 09:15 AM)metro5053 Wrote:  
(09-03-2014 08:23 AM)Skypilot Wrote:  Did you get hit for duty/GST because with the exchange rate it would have been over the AUS$1000 threshold?

Hi, no there was no import duty the total excluding freight was AU$990
(This post was last modified: 09-03-2014 09:17 AM by metro5053.)
09-03-2014 09:15 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #4
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
(09-03-2014 06:30 AM)metro5053 Wrote:  just one question when it is set to 'Autoset", does this mean it will automatically adjust the therapy whilst I am wearing it, or I have to set minimum and Maximum pressures.
Thanks and RegardsSmile
Bob

Yes, it will indeed adjust as needs change. The S9 Auto is a marvelous piece of equipment and the Cadillac of the CPAP's.

You can choose to use it "as is" and accept the factory setting for minimum & maximum pressures (4 & 20) or you may choose to set it differently. Some will advise you to leave it alone if it is working and giving you >5 AHI per hour. I consider it prudent to set it to my individual requirements since I think I'm more in tune to my condition than all others.

I chose to set mine more to my requirements rather than allow the factory minimums to dictate the range of control. I did this based on my knowledge that it was folly to start out in a pressure so low that I could never benefit from it. I chose to set the minimum to a point just below the response level I had witnessed on the lowest pressure correction made when the S9 adjusted for the first event. That turned out to be 8 cm wc. Then I set the maximum to just above the highest reading that was ever recorded by the S9 in a typical former run. That turned out to be 16 cm wc. That makes my setting at 8 ~ 16 and it works very well for me. The advantage of having the lower setting bumped up is that the first event is likely getting better response time. The advantage of having the maximum pressure lowered is that when testing the mask for leaks, using the "Mask Test" feature, it is not subjected to a pressure so high that it forces me to tighten the straps unduly tight. Preparing for a pressure of 20 cm wc can make for a rough night's infliction of mask injury to my face. With the 16 cm wc setting, the machine automatically tests the mask at 16 cm wc (not 20 cm) and it's easy to get the mask leak free at that setting.

Some may argue that I am limiting the machine's ability to help me when it may actually need the full 20 cm wc pressure. I say I will see that on the software that I use to monitor my progress and adjust accordingly. In the meantime, I'll enjoy the benefits of the lower setting.

Since your pressure recommendation is very similar to mine, you can reasonably expect that my settings might be a good starting place for you. Stick around for other opinions and make your own decision based on what you think sounds best. Sometimes there is no definite right and wrong but there is always a way that is best suited for the individual and only you can determine that by weighing all the advice given my others who are down the road ahead of you.
09-03-2014 10:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #5
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
oops, double post
(This post was last modified: 09-03-2014 11:03 AM by surferdude2.)
09-03-2014 11:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #6
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Surfie's right on about the settings issue. 4 and 20 is only good for blackbird pie recipes. In your case you already know you have a therapeutic pressure of 13.5. So by setting the S9 to a minimum pressure of 8, or even 10, and a max pressure of 16 you will have a nice range for the machine to play with. Then watch the results using the Resmed Rescan software and see how you do. If you haven't already installed that software you can get it from http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...d=99#pid99
09-03-2014 11:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #7
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
BTW,Welcome I neglected to do that...Dont-know

One more point that you may consider; set the EPR to #2 initially. I found the #3 setting was unduly disturbing by the pressure thump it created and setting it to #2 made that go away. If you later find that you are having trouble exhaling against your pressure settings, you can always change it to #3. In time, when you totally accept and adjust to the mask and pressures, you'll find that the EPR feature has little value.
09-03-2014 11:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #8
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
And a 'nother thing...since you're using the newer Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset, which does all the S9 auto can and more, you might want to stick your nose into the ongoing thread about those two units: Lookie Here
09-03-2014 11:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,449
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #9
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Hi metro5053,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
What has been said so far.
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
09-03-2014 12:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
metro5053 Offline

Members

Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: Resmed airsense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResmedAirfit F10
Humidifier: Resmed airsense 10
CPAP Pressure: median 13.5
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Western Australia

Post: #10
RE: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Hi,
just like to say thanks to all the advice and help that you all have given me, at least now I have a start to understanding the Machine and the settings, it can only get better
Thnanks and Regards
Bob
09-04-2014 04:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,484 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,261 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 248 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Angry Resmed Airsense/Telstra 2G wireless kerput JamesW 2 211 11-24-2016 11:08 PM
Last Post: JamesW
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 562 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 514 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  [CPAP] ResMed AirSense 10 makes loud noise when inhaling. sanger 86 30,233 11-17-2016 09:14 PM
Last Post: comphelp

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)