Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Pressure] correct pressure ?!?
correct pressure ?!?
So, I was on 12/7 bilevel for a while and under 5 AHIs an hour. This increased, so the doctor had it set to auto for a month. This showed an ok AHI of 6 with a 90% pressure value of 12/8.8.

Then she said leave on auto, or set back to 12/7. Hmm why not set to 12/8.5? Any comments on this? Would the software be of any use in determing this, I can wait 3 months and get in to the doctor for his opinion ugh..

thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: correct pressure ?!?
Welcome asleep10. I am not an expert on the bilevel machines, but I'm sure someone will chime in. There is not a lot of difference from 7 to 8.8 on the exhale side and I'm not sure that stops the apnea but gives the exhale relief . So the auto mode may still move around and help with changing conditions. Make sure to fill in all the mask and machine info when you get the chance as it all matters.
Software will help if you are making small slow changes and you can learn what to look for in the data to see if it is helping. So you found the right place to come for help and a chance to learn. Read a bunch of posts, search old posts and you will find lots of info.
Good Luck!

Doc J (despite my nickname I am not a doctor)

Remember to donate to the board if you can, it has helped a lot of people including myself.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi asleep10,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
What mask and machine do you have?
That information will help others to help you. Hang in there and best of luck to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
Consider running on auto and using software.
The AHI is a convoluted number. If it's mostly from Hypoapneas, then 6 isn't too bad.