Post Reply 
[Equipment] SD card won't mount in PRS1
Author Message
TheWerkz Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 261
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i & ClimateLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto-CPAP 11 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas, TX - USA - Planet Earth

Post: #11
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
(12-17-2012 09:13 PM)JJJ Wrote:  Yep. No matter what I try, if the card is in the machine it beeps, the light flashes continuously, and the display says to remove and reinsert the card.

Once my S9 Autoset gets here so I can destroy the PRS1, if necessary, I will take it apart to see if I can replace the card reader. While I'm in there I'll see if I can figure out other things that I am curious about, e.g., what operating system it is running (I'll bet it is an embedded Linux like Raspberry Pi or something). I'm already planning my attack to see if I can cobble together a connection to a keyboard so I can hack it more thoroughly. Too-funny

JJJ,

There's a good possibility that 1 of the 9 contacts isn't being made between the card slot and the card contacts. When you do open 'er up, the SD card slot is pretty simple, the biggest problem is trying to actually do anything with it besides just replace it, I've seen a couple of different styles and they're pretty compact and usually mounted on the edge of a PC board.

On the OS, it's probably flashed onto an EPROM, you'll need an EPROM reader if there's not a diagnostics connector inside the machine, or you might have to un-solder it from the board to be able to put it into a reader, good luck on the pin-out's.

Let us know, I'm curious too! Thinking-about

Ren
12-17-2012 10:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #12
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
My S9 Autoset from Supplier #2 is supposed to be here any minute. UPS says "out for delivery" which, for residential addresses is up to 7 pm. It's 3:45 pm. Hurry UPS truck, before I wet my pants!
12-27-2012 06:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
TheWerkz Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 261
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i & ClimateLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto-CPAP 11 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas, TX - USA - Planet Earth

Post: #13
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
(12-27-2012 06:40 PM)JJJ Wrote:  Hurry UPS truck, before I wet my pants!

Too-funnyLaugh-a-lot

After it arrives you'll be so excited you won't be able SLEEP! Dielaughing
12-27-2012 07:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #14
Smile RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
5:15 pm. It finally arrove. Wink
12-27-2012 08:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Shastzi Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,174
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: FitLife Total face mask
Humidifier: F&P HC150 with Hybernite heated hose.
CPAP Pressure: 15cm-20cm H2O (auto)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: CMS50-F wearable Oximeter; Software: SPO2 Assistant

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Florida, USA.

Post: #15
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
Perhaps the trouble is in the interdimensional stabilizer....
Smile
12-27-2012 09:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #16
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
(12-27-2012 08:32 PM)JJJ Wrote:  5:15 pm. It finally arrove. Wink

PERFUME!!!!

Gawd, we need to amend the Indoor Clean Air Act. "No perfume within 20 feet of building entrances." Or just straight ban the <expletive deleted> stuff.

OK, it's not as bad as the PRS1 that I bought eight months ago on Craigslist. And I finally cleared that one of the pestilence by running it continuously for several days, coupled with bathing in vinegar. Hopefully by bedtime I will have my new S9 Autoset usable.

It did not come with an SD card, so I stuck one of the cards that I used with my PRS1 into it. "Autoset not happy." I finally figured out how to get it to format the SD card to its liking. Hopefully in the morning I will have data for SleepyHead.

Question: I was using my PRS1 at a humidifier setting of 2. I set the new Autoset to the same number. Is that the equivalent setting?

Another question: I told the dude at SecondWind to set it at 10-14 Auto mode, but it did not occur to me to tell him to do anything to the EPR setting. I don't think my PRS1 had such a setting. What should it be for the Autoset?

I did all of the above just poking at the display, although I downloaded the manuals from here. What? I was supposed to read the manuals?
12-27-2012 10:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
TheWerkz Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 261
Joined: Oct 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i & ClimateLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto-CPAP 11 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas, TX - USA - Planet Earth

Post: #17
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
(12-27-2012 10:15 PM)JJJ Wrote:  PERFUME!!!!

Gawd, we need to amend the Indoor Clean Air Act. "No perfume within 20 feet of building entrances." Or just straight ban the <expletive deleted> stuff.

I vote for a worldwide, better yet - GALAXYWIDE BAN on ALL perfume ANYWHERE or within a million miles of Earth! SHa_biggrin5

(12-27-2012 10:15 PM)JJJ Wrote:  Question: I was using my PRS1 at a humidifier setting of 2. I set the new Autoset to the same number. Is that the equivalent setting?

Probably not. I like 5.5 but you could start at 3 and see what you think after tonight.

(12-27-2012 10:15 PM)JJJ Wrote:  Another question: I told the dude at SecondWind to set it at 10-14 Auto mode, but it did not occur to me to tell him to do anything to the EPR setting.

You shouldn't need it, especially if you've never had it before. It reduces the pressure by 1, 2 or 3 cm for exhale, mostly for helping new users to get accustomed to breathing with CPAP, from what I've read, it looks like most people don't use it either.

Now, memorize all the manuals and get to sleep! Too-funny

Enjoy your new toy!

Ren
12-27-2012 10:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #18
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
(12-27-2012 10:15 PM)JJJ Wrote:  It did not come with an SD card, so I stuck one of the cards that I used with my PRS1 into it. "Autoset not happy." I finally figured out how to get it to format the SD card to its liking.

Hi JJJ,

You might mention the missing SD card to Secondwind to see if that was an oversight.


JJJ Wrote:Another question: I told the dude at SecondWind to set it at 10-14 Auto mode, but it did not occur to me to tell him to do anything to the EPR setting. I don't think my PRS1 had such a setting. What should it be for the Autoset?

If you are accustomed to a straight CPAP (no C-Flex, or whatever it is PR calls its version of Exhalation Pressure Relief) then I'd suggest it might be good to start with EPR=1 and increase the setting by one each night. Kinda eases you into it. However, I know one person who simply set EPR to 3 right off the bat, because that is where he liked it best.

Do keep an eye on the data for Clear Airway events, since EPR has been known to increase the number of CAs with some patients. For me, I have slightly higher CAI (monthly average worse by 0.2) but lower overall AHI (monthly average better by 0.9) when I use EPR. So, for me, EPR lowers my obstructive events more than it raises my central events, and makes use of the machine more comfortable.

It is really great that you have invested in a fully data-capable machine.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 12-27-2012 11:24 PM by vsheline.)
12-27-2012 11:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #19
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
(12-27-2012 10:15 PM)JJJ Wrote:  I did all of the above just poking at the display, although I downloaded the manuals from here. What? I was supposed to read the manuals?
start here videos setup with the S9 next to you so you can play with the controls
http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup

H5i humidifier guide
http://www.resmed.com/au/assets/document...ac_eng.pdf

climate line user instructions
http://www.resmed.com/au/assets/document...lo_eng.pdf

see post #1 for ResScan download link and ResScan Report Interpretation Guide
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ersion-4-1

Resscan tutorial video
http://www.apneaboard.com/resscan.htm
12-27-2012 11:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #20
RE: SD card won't mount in PRS1
The machines from SecondWind do not come with a card. Or at least mine did not either.

JJJ, I did not have any data for the first night. Not sure if I did something wrong or what.

As tough as they are on "no cigarette smoke" on the machines, you'd think they'd do the same for perfumes. Luckily, mine didn't have that stink.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
12-28-2012 12:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Quick Setup question for PRS1 OMyMyOHellYes 15 619 07-31-2016 09:10 PM
Last Post: Ghost1958
  ResMed S9 SD Card "Invalid SD Card, erase card data?" MAPnea 28 27,462 03-18-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: palerider
  PRS1 sponge filter popping out. The cause and the fix. Ghost1958 27 4,287 01-30-2016 03:10 PM
Last Post: GPSMapNut
  PRS1 wheezing Sound xxl 7 895 10-25-2015 07:15 PM
Last Post: zonk
  PRS1 bipap auto vrs AirCurve 10 vauto Winkin' 6 1,503 07-18-2015 11:52 AM
Last Post: PaytonA
  PRS1 550 A Flex Issue JerryLeeK9 11 1,704 06-20-2015 07:46 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Downloading data to SD card of Resmed for nights that SD card not in ResMed machine Robert6 8 4,925 06-19-2015 09:28 AM
Last Post: estgad

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)