Post Reply 
[Equipment] Settings - DME changed
Author Message
RedSkip Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 20
Joined: Jul 2016

Machine: AirSense 10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10
Humidifier: Integral
CPAP Pressure: 6-15
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Post: #1
Settings - DME changed
Wanted to get everyone's thoughts...

I've been compliant (100%) since I started. Soon after I found this board and downloaded Sleepyhead I bumped my starting pressure from 4 to 6. I felt I was getting starved for air and my average 90% pressure was 7+ cmH2O. So, I pushed it to 6.4 and let it ride. I don't see excessive CAs and my AHI has been below 2 the entire time I've started.

I'm not sure if I should be irritated or not, but this evening I was looking for my AHI and noticed they changed my pressure back to 4 remotely. I'm a little pissed but not a huge deal, I get it. However, they didn't tell me and I'd gladly tell them why.

I have a follow up with my Dr. Next week and will be bringing it up with him. I guess worst case I'll switch it to Airplane mode.

My insurance says I have a year rental period, however, I'm not sure what this means. I'm fully compliant, so does it just mean they make monthly installments to the DME for the remainder of the 12 month rental period? Or can they say I'm not compliant since I switch it to Airplane?

Any thoughts? I've read a bunch here and I know the forum has a lot of expressive opinions. I'm open to all ideas and plan to keep an open mind. I get why but just annoyed they didn't tell me...
(This post was last modified: 08-12-2016 07:00 PM by RedSkip.)
08-12-2016 06:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,350
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #2
RE: Settings - DME changed
I would just be straight with the doctor about the change you made, and that it worked for you. Focus on the aspect that you felt air-starved at minimum pressure, and you feel better with the modified settings, because he is unlikely to care about machine data. He will likely just change the pressure prescription and you can move on. The doctor should be your partner in this. Give him a chance to deliver.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
08-12-2016 08:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
natyprueba Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 96
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: airsense10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: resmed mirage 4
Humidifier: integrated in machine
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Learning

Sex: Male
Location: USA-13501

Post: #3
RE: Settings - DME changed
redskin.


Hello.

I got the same machine as you. My Dr. setting was at the beginning 4 cms. of water and later a fixed pressure of 12 cms . At the beginning I really did feel starving for air. I changed the setting to begin with 7 cms. and I feel much better, but I thinking very seriously to increase this setting until 8 cms.
I believe that the best solution to the remote change of settings is speak with your doctor about the machine setting. I think the insurance won't like, in a rent machine, to don't know what is going on. Remember that we don't have privacy anymore. You can change it manually everyday at night until your next appointment.
Ralph.
08-12-2016 08:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JudgeMental Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 324
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto-CPAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida USA

Post: #4
RE: Settings - DME changed
Hi Red... Evidently the Physician remotely changed your pressure back to the 4. Can't see any reason for the DME to change it, unless they thought that you accidently changed it. All they are going to want is the money. I'd definitely discuss this with your doc in next weeks meeting. Explain about your not getting enough air, your 90% mark.. Better feeling with a higher pressure. You and your Physician should be a "health Team".
As far as the rental fees go... The Insurance or Medicare will pay for the monthy rental for one (1) year, after which the CPAP/APAP machine is yours. They should also pay for any repairs needed during that 12 month period. Again, after 12 months, you assume full ownership and any repair costs if required.

Yesterday is history; Tomorrow is a mystery; Today is a gift; Thats why its called "The Present".
08-12-2016 09:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
DeepBreathing Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 2,295
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP: 9 - 15 PS: 3 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post: #5
RE: Settings - DME changed
I think as a principle it is totally wrong for the doctor or DME to change your settings without consulting you. If they thought you'd changed it accidentally, at the very least they should ask you. I personally would be extremely annoyed - what ever happened to informed consent?

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-12-2016 10:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mosquitobait Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 746
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: integrated, Climate line tube
CPAP Pressure: 9-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: RLS and Bradycardia

Sex: Female
Location: Minneapolis

Post: #6
RE: Settings - DME changed
I would simply change it back to what you want it at and call the DME. Find out why it was changed and who authorized the change. They CANNOT change your settings without doctor authorization and they aren't going to check your settings unless the doctor orders a change. Could be a machine glitch. Could also be that the manager double checks everybody's settings and saw that yours was 6 instead of 4 and changed it to match the doctor order. No matter what, they should have knowledge of who authorized the settings change. You, as the patient, can change it to whatever you want.

As others mentioned, your machine is being paid for by your insurance company for 12 months and then you own it. You have to ask your insurance company what the compliance requirement is. For most insurance, if you have shown compliance for the first 30 days and then seen your doctor, you are done. They do not follow further.
(This post was last modified: 08-12-2016 11:16 PM by Mosquitobait.)
08-12-2016 11:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Ockrocket Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 164
Joined: Jul 2016

Machine: Philips Dreamstation.
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson.
Humidifier: Philips Dreamstation.
CPAP Pressure: 7.0
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Windsor (near enough) NSW, Au.

Post: #7
RE: Settings - DME changed
Can I just put a different perspective on this?

1. Why didn't you notify you clinic/doctor/DME that you were going to change it and give them the reason why?
And inform them you were going to schedule an appointment with your doctor ASAP to discuss the changes and your current issue of not getting enough air.

2. Why didn't you call your doctor directly and discuss changing the settings and your reason as to why you where changing them?

A couple of phone calls could well have solved the situation without even seeing the doctor, he may have considered your issue and cleared the change you need directly with the DME [sorry if I'm not getting the terms for the clinic/CPAP supplier correct, we don't have quite the same system here in Australia.... but we do deal with a respiratory/sleep specialist, and a clinic that supplies the machine and controls all the settings ordered by the specialist]

I have phoned my CPAP clinic directly and asked them to change settings, and also to download and email me reports, all done remotely.

When I first started on the CPAP I had to take the whole unit back to them [specialist's orders], but once they got to know me I got the ok to take just the SD card instead of lugging the whole machine on trains and buses for two hours in each direction.
Now I just phone them up when I need anything done.

In reality your CPAP supplier has probably done the right thing in assuming you may have accidentally changed it, or that there had been a machine malfunction.

BUT.. they definitely should have called you to alert you to what they may have perceived as an inadvertent error with the machine.
08-13-2016 07:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,496
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #8
RE: Settings - DME changed
Guess it would depend on the DME but neither my doctor or DME gave a darn that I changed it. When I got my replacement machine the DME said they *had* to set it to the prescribed settings but she said you can set it to whatever you had changed it to yourself. Couldn't have cared any less. My machine is in airplane mode now that I own it.



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
08-13-2016 07:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Ockrocket Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 164
Joined: Jul 2016

Machine: Philips Dreamstation.
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson.
Humidifier: Philips Dreamstation.
CPAP Pressure: 7.0
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Windsor (near enough) NSW, Au.

Post: #9
RE: Settings - DME changed
(08-13-2016 07:52 AM)AlanE Wrote:  Guess it would depend on the DME but neither my doctor or DME gave a darn that I changed it. When I got my replacement machine the DME said they *had* to set it to the prescribed settings but she said you can set it to whatever you had changed it to yourself. Couldn't have cared any less. My machine is in airplane mode now that I own it.

Funny how some places/people think they should have ultimate control over our health management, while others are quite happy to just go along with whatever we feel happiest and most comfortable with.

I thought maybe it was just an Aussie thing that we are a bit more relaxed about those things, but it seems that may not be the case after all.... some people/places are just a PITA and think they have the right to dictate to their patients [clients actually, we pay the bills]
08-13-2016 08:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PsychoMike Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 551
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Varies with mood, ResMed F10 is my primary
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 12-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: asthma, cyclist upgraditis, just a little crazy (honest :D )

Sex: Male
Location: Alberta, Canada

Post: #10
RE: Settings - DME changed
Most DME's don't care as long as you're compliant and AHI is <5.

When I first started adjusting mine, the RT at my DME didn't clue in at all....in fact, she seemed quite pleased with herself that my AHI was down (she hadn't adjusted anything and didn't even look at the other numbers....just AHI and compliance %). Be proactive and involve your doctor...if the two of you have a good relationship and you can demonstrate you have a good clue (don't forget, the docs might get a 1/2 hour on it during med school), most will back you with your DME.
08-15-2016 11:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Newbie - need advice on settings and machine tmc712 18 343 Yesterday 09:04 PM
Last Post: tmc712
  Dream Station Ramp and Pressure Settings knowoneuno 21 432 Yesterday 11:00 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Dream Station Settings Autumnseer 15 529 11-26-2016 07:01 AM
Last Post: Weird Tolkienish Figure
  Who generally is in charge of your CPAP settings? Mezzrow 9 473 11-12-2016 01:47 AM
Last Post: blueelement2016
  do I have the right machine (and settings) JaminV 4 376 10-31-2016 10:05 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Dreamstation heated tube/humidifier initial settings. NorthernGuy 9 728 10-28-2016 09:21 AM
Last Post: Perchas
  Flex settings and hypopneas KSMatthew 4 524 10-21-2016 09:47 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)