Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

im a trainman not driver but..
im a trainman not driver but..
my job is holding me to this standard for some reason.;. where can i get the actual DOT guidelines in print in my hands??crazy..cant find a thing specific to my job...FRA? DOT? whos making the rules???SadThanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: im a trainman not driver but..
Hi Cheesedips,

The best way to get the information you want is to simply ask your company HR department what the exact LAW is or it may be a company policy. They may simply be choosing to follow the DOT guidelines to protect them self's. Also you most likely can find the regulation you want under FMCSA. And remember when you request the information from your company be vary nice and you should have no issues getting the info. Hope this helps.
Post Reply Post Reply
If they do not have a ruling already in place specifically stating it, they can probably do it due to some umbrella statement about health issues. Add in the fatal derailment in NYC a while back where the train driver was shown to have undetected/untreated sleep apnea and fell asleep, it is probably making them twitchy.

A search got me this statistic from Sleep4Safety: