Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] Trouble connecting oximeter to computer
#1
Sorry, I'm sure there must be some info somewhere here, but I can't find it. I just purchased a CMS50E oximeter and it records, charges, etc., and I've installed the program on three of my computers but when I plug in the USB chord that came with the unit my computer(s) say there is no device available. I'm running XP, Vista Home Premium, and Vista Professional. Can someone either direct me to a discussion or whatever or give me some hints? Thanks!:Huh
The FUTURE is worth preparing for!
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hi, Smitharbie, I have a CMS50D+ recording pulse oximeter and had a similar problem with the message "no device found" on a PC running Windows XP. Then I went back to the User Manual and "translated" the "translation" into REAL English and came up with this:
1. Do NOT turn the pulse oximeter's recording "OFF" whatever you do!!
2. Connect the pulse oximeter to your computer using the USB connection.
3. Double click on the "SpO2 Review" icon to open the program.
4. Click on "New Session"
5. Enter patient name (or, I use the date since I'm the only "patient") and click "OK"
6. And then TURN OFF the "RECORDING" on the pulse oximeter and...
7. Data starts to transfer.

Hope this helps and I also hope someone else may have a better answer that solves your problem!
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(09-15-2013, 10:32 PM)MAPnea Wrote: Hi, Smitharbie, I have a CMS50D+ recording pulse oximeter and had a similar problem with the message "no device found" on a PC running Windows XP. Then I went back to the User Manual and "translated" the "translation" into REAL English and came up with this:
1. Do NOT turn the pulse oximeter's recording "OFF" whatever you do!!
2. Connect the pulse oximeter to your computer using the USB connection.
3. Double click on the "SpO2 Review" icon to open the program.
4. Click on "New Session"
5. Enter patient name (or, I use the date since I'm the only "patient") and click "OK"
6. And then TURN OFF the "RECORDING" on the pulse oximeter and...
7. Data starts to transfer.

Hope this helps and I also hope someone else may have a better answer that solves your problem!

O.K. Thanks! I'll go back to my Chinglish instructions and see if I can ferret this out! Seems strange not to turn recording off when you're finished recording, but - - - ?Huh

The FUTURE is worth preparing for!
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Have you gone through the steps here:
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...2_software
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#5
I think if you use enough duct tape, it will stay connected good.

OMM
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(09-16-2013, 01:57 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote: Have you gone through the steps here:
(link)

Yes, Paula02. Thanks for the information. I have gone over the procedures very carefully several times. The problem I have is that my CMS50E is not recognized by the computer. I have tried it on three of my computers, one XP, one Vista home premium, and one Vista professional (The XP is 64 bit, and the other two are 32 bit). I can bring up the programs I installed, sp02 and sp02 Review, but everything is greyed out except the window that pops up asking me to choose a file to open. I have no file to open because I can't load one into the program because the device isn't recognized. I am using the cable that came with the CMS50E. Either the cable is bad, or it's the wrong cable?? My computers have no trouble seeing other devices I plug in. I have contacted the company I ordered from and they asked me if I changed the USB setting to "ON", which I had, and I answered them and that's the last I've heard from them. Dont-know
The FUTURE is worth preparing for!
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Amazing! I just got my oximeter programs working. Thought I would give it one more college try, and Wallahhhh (or whatever)! What I did was to turn the gizmo on, insert my finger, then plugged it into my laptop, then opened up the RED program, and it started sending the info to the program and displayed it on the screen. Then I played around with it for a while, then clicked on the "i" icon at the bottom and it said more info. Gave me a screen to input my name, etc. Then I closed the program and it opened up a window which said, "Waiting for Data," or something like that. So I punched the button on the oximeter for the menu and set it on "Upload" and clicked it, and it immediately started uploading. Now both programs work. I uploaded a couple more times just to see what I was doing and it uploaded each time and saved the file. Now I can Review the data file in Green, and see the current oximeter operation in RED. Other than explaining what I just did, I don't know what made it start working, except that I was actually using the oximeter at the time I opened up the RED program. Interesting, but maybe this will help someone. I don't know, but I'm glad I don't have to send it back. Thanks to all who contributed to this problem.
The FUTURE is worth preparing for!
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
So, I just went back to one of my desktop computers and the program still wouldn't work. It works now on my Laptop, but won't work on the desktop. I tried everything like on my last post, and no go. Strange! But at least it works on my laptop and I can use it. Just wish I knew what the KEY was. And btw, I know the desktop programs loaded correctly because I copied the .exe file from the desktop and loaded it with a flash drive because the mini-disk won't load into my laptop. I would still like to make it work on my desktop because my Sleepyhead program is on that machine and I'd like to load onto the Sleepyhead program. If anyone has insight as to why or why not the computer will or won't recognize the oximeter, please let me know. Thanks!
The FUTURE is worth preparing for!
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Diagnosis] Pulse Oximeter a way to rule in or out some form of apnea? BethMort 13 389 05-24-2017, 01:27 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Recording oximeter for overnight use BrassCat 4 252 05-08-2017, 10:19 PM
Last Post: xxyzx
  Overnight Pulse Oximeter for Mac/apple/iphone fergienz 17 2,781 04-30-2017, 01:32 PM
Last Post: tiredDogs
  [Equipment] CMS50F Pulse Oximeter c2workout 4 251 04-29-2017, 01:10 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Trouble after power outages ScoobieDrew 5 320 04-16-2017, 06:55 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  you members got me in trouble silversnore 14 763 03-31-2017, 09:01 AM
Last Post: Phill
  Which pulse oximeter to buy _cy_ 21 2,887 03-29-2017, 06:44 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.