Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] What ASV machine has the most user settings/range?
What ASV machine has the most user settings/range?
My doctor has decided that I am a candidate for an ASV machine.

By nature I am an analytical tweeker/engineer. So naturally, someone else doing set-and-forget is not my style.

I want to upload my SD card and see what’s going on. To that end, I would also like to have the option to get into
the machine’s inner workings and see/tweek the settings (with input from my respiratory technician - of course).

I’ve looked at the ResMed and Philips units and am leaning toward the Philips. But before I commit to either, I’d like to
see what other options there are.  I’m new to the wonderful world of sleep apnea (or at least new to dealing with it) —
and don’t have a lot of time to personally see/evaluate what other units are available.

Your comments/recommendations will be appreciated.  Also input on the various units algorithms.

Thanks,
SFS
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: What ASV machine has the most user settings/range?
SanFranSnorer,

Hi and welcome to the Apnea Board. Me personally, I would consider staying with either ResMed or Respironics. I have the ResMed AirCurve 10 ASV. It may not have as many adjustments as the Respironics, but IMO it does a great job of tackling my mixed apneas. I see reports that it responds faster to events, and I can somewhat believe it. Why only somewhat? Because I've not tried the PR ASV. My non-treated AHI would be around 72; I typically get about an AHI of 1 now.

The Respironics algorithm tends to be a bit slower to respond, and feels less natural, from what I hear. It will need to be set much closer to the patient's pressure needs to be effective.