Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] Where does the S9 keep its settings
#11
(03-16-2014, 01:21 PM)c0reDump Wrote: First off, S9s are not life support equipment Smile -- I'm not going to keel over in minutes (or weeks) if I go without the CPAP.

Secondly, I doubt the S9s would revert to some kind of "default prescription" if the clinician's settings were wiped (for whatever reason, be it dead CMOS battery or whatnot). It would probably display some error code on the LCD screen if the settings were wiped / not set.

S9's have hard coded defaults. You can do a full reset on the machine; and all parameters will default to those hard coded defaults (except total run hours.)

Not life support; perhaps a poor choice of words on my part; but, a sleep apnea patient could wake up dead. Or, if the machine fails to hold the prescribed treatment, and a patient has worsening heart disease -- then finds out the machine had a design fault because some engineer decided volatile memory was cheaper -- that's the stuff lawsuits are made of.

Oh-jeez
[Image: pBt22Od.jpg]
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
(03-16-2014, 01:01 PM)justMongo Wrote: I would never base a design for life support equipment on volatile CMOS memory with a battery when non-volatile memory is available and cheap.

I think you nailed it. ResMed has a partnership with STMicroelectronics using the ARM Cortex-M processors. These usually have program flash, configuration eeprom, and ram on-chip. They also have a backup battery connector and an RTC backup battery connector.
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
My elite is set for the following
Pressure: 12 (found in clinical settings)
EPR: full-time (found in clinical settings)
EPR level: patient (found in clinical settings)
Ramp time: 15 minutes (patient settings)
EPR Inhale: Med (clinical settings)
EPR level: 3 (patient settings)
Tube heat: 80
Humidity: Auto

With my machine set this way it feels like natural breathing to me using a simplus oral nasal mask. With the inhale set at medium I don't get aerophagia like I used to because I think set on fast was forcing air a little too quickly. My AHI has consistently been less than 1.0 and most nights 0.0. Resmed makes a good machine, once you get all the settings in harmony it's even better.

Good luck
Post Reply Post Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  New Settings For AirCurve 10 DoomWalrus 12 238 06-15-2017, 10:21 PM
Last Post: DoomWalrus
  Sleepyhead Reports- Do I need to change settings? littlefatcat 3 131 06-15-2017, 02:29 PM
Last Post: littlefatcat
Question Legality of provider changing settings Roger the Dodger 13 436 06-12-2017, 08:27 PM
Last Post: CB91710
  ResMed Adjust ASV Settings to AutoASV Settings ronsch00 4 147 06-09-2017, 10:57 PM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  [Treatment] New Member seeking help with Resp. settings Brett C 26 788 06-04-2017, 10:53 PM
Last Post: ajack
  Apap to CPAP for camping, settings question. DavePaulson 20 691 06-04-2017, 08:19 AM
Last Post: DavePaulson
  ResMed Mini settings kderevan 5 400 06-03-2017, 11:13 PM
Last Post: kderevan

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.