Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] Where does the S9 keep its settings
#11
(03-16-2014, 01:21 PM)c0reDump Wrote: First off, S9s are not life support equipment Smile -- I'm not going to keel over in minutes (or weeks) if I go without the CPAP.

Secondly, I doubt the S9s would revert to some kind of "default prescription" if the clinician's settings were wiped (for whatever reason, be it dead CMOS battery or whatnot). It would probably display some error code on the LCD screen if the settings were wiped / not set.

S9's have hard coded defaults. You can do a full reset on the machine; and all parameters will default to those hard coded defaults (except total run hours.)

Not life support; perhaps a poor choice of words on my part; but, a sleep apnea patient could wake up dead. Or, if the machine fails to hold the prescribed treatment, and a patient has worsening heart disease -- then finds out the machine had a design fault because some engineer decided volatile memory was cheaper -- that's the stuff lawsuits are made of.

Oh-jeez

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
(03-16-2014, 01:01 PM)justMongo Wrote: I would never base a design for life support equipment on volatile CMOS memory with a battery when non-volatile memory is available and cheap.

I think you nailed it. ResMed has a partnership with STMicroelectronics using the ARM Cortex-M processors. These usually have program flash, configuration eeprom, and ram on-chip. They also have a backup battery connector and an RTC backup battery connector.
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
My elite is set for the following
Pressure: 12 (found in clinical settings)
EPR: full-time (found in clinical settings)
EPR level: patient (found in clinical settings)
Ramp time: 15 minutes (patient settings)
EPR Inhale: Med (clinical settings)
EPR level: 3 (patient settings)
Tube heat: 80
Humidity: Auto

With my machine set this way it feels like natural breathing to me using a simplus oral nasal mask. With the inhale set at medium I don't get aerophagia like I used to because I think set on fast was forcing air a little too quickly. My AHI has consistently been less than 1.0 and most nights 0.0. Resmed makes a good machine, once you get all the settings in harmony it's even better.

Good luck
Post Reply Post Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Constant Air the same even when i change settings blackhawk2737303 6 169 3 hours ago
Last Post: Sleeprider
  PS settings RLSdss 18 417 11-29-2017, 03:14 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  [Pressure] Aircurve 10 VAuto settings recommendations Keith R 11 584 11-19-2017, 04:52 PM
Last Post: Keith R
  Some questions [leakage & proper settings] dhammond 5 305 11-19-2017, 11:24 AM
Last Post: nappyhair2
  Need help with pressure settings readyforsleep 14 694 11-18-2017, 12:52 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Older Machines With PS & EPAP Settings? Greggory 8 182 11-15-2017, 06:55 PM
Last Post: Greggory
  PR System One Mask Resistance Settings sharkcity 18 18,797 11-02-2017, 01:42 PM
Last Post: Raymond Hallett

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.