Post Reply 
[Equipment] high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
Author Message
apnmhe Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: ResMed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4-17
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: United States

Post: #1
high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
My DME provider set up an AirSense 10 Auto with a Swift FX mask, and the starting pressure was surprisingly high -- in comparison with my ResMed S9 Auto (also with a Swift FX mask) which I've had good luck with for five years.

My S9 starts gently and slowly ramps up over a period of 20-30 minutes.

The provider insisted that he configured the AirSense 10 properly, including the ramp settings, and that the high pressure was a characteristic of that model.

I declined the machine, as my nostrils were visibly inflating starting with the first breath.

ResMed says there shouldn't be such a noticeable difference between the S9 and AirSense 10 -- and that my DME had probably set it up improperly.

Has anyone had a similar experience? Is the AirSense 10 as gentle as the S9?

I'd rather have the newer model, as ResMed says the S9 is now discontinued.

Thanks.
08-01-2016 04:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
DeepBreathing Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 2,295
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP: 9 - 15 PS: 3 - 10
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post: #2
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
The ramp period is a comfort setting which you can adjust yourself (not sure how to do it on an A10 but there is probably a fairly obvious menu setting).

If I remember correctly user access to the ramp can be disabled by the provider. If they have disabled it, you need to go into the clinician menu to reset it. You can obtain the clinician manual via the link at the top of this page.

DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-02-2016 08:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PoolQ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 986
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: AirCurve 10 VAUTO
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 6.2, 15, PS4.0
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sillicon Valley

Post: #3
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
On the airsense10 there is a ramp time 0-45 minutes and a ramp starting pressure, default is 4, which most people find a little on the low side.
08-02-2016 11:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
green wings Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 547
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Respironics System One RemStar Pro (460)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10
Humidifier: integrated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 13.0 cm
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: using CPAP since Jan. 2016

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: US

Post: #4
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
Dear apnmhe,

I would encourage you to learn how to tell what the minimum and maximum treatment pressure settings in your S9 machine are, along with the ramp starting pressure and ramp time.

That way, if a DME sets up a new machine for you and the settings feel wrong, you can say "show me the settings" and you can verify for yourself whether the settings in the new machine are the same as the ones in your current machine.



(08-01-2016 04:53 PM)apnmhe Wrote:  My DME provider set up an AirSense 10 Auto with a Swift FX mask, and the starting pressure was surprisingly high -- in comparison with my ResMed S9 Auto (also with a Swift FX mask) which I've had good luck with for five years.

My S9 starts gently and slowly ramps up over a period of 20-30 minutes.

The provider insisted that he configured the AirSense 10 properly, including the ramp settings, and that the high pressure was a characteristic of that model.

I declined the machine, as my nostrils were visibly inflating starting with the first breath.

ResMed says there shouldn't be such a noticeable difference between the S9 and AirSense 10 -- and that my DME had probably set it up improperly.

Has anyone had a similar experience? Is the AirSense 10 as gentle as the S9?

I'd rather have the newer model, as ResMed says the S9 is now discontinued.

Thanks.
08-02-2016 12:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
apnmhe Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: ResMed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4-17
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: United States

Post: #5
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
Thanks DeepBreathing, PoolQ, and green wings for your replies.

I'm familiar with my pressures (4-17), and on how to enter and use the clinician's menus (on my S9).

When I tried the AirSense 10 at the provider's office, we did review the pressures and settings, and offhand they looked right. But as I'm not familiar with the A10 menus, there could easily have been a setting that would have fixed the problem.

To be clear, the difference I experienced between my S9 and the A10 was dramatic, and uncomfortable.

The DME insisted that the machine was setup correctly, and that the high initial pressure was a characteristic of the A10. That seemed unlikely, as I couldn't imagine anyone, particularly a prior S9 user, being satisfied with an A10.

That's why I'm hoping there are A10 owners who will report if their A10 starts gently (and possibly in comparison with a previously owned S9).

Thanks again.
08-02-2016 01:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pholynyk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 306
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 APAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: included
CPAP Pressure: 11-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #6
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
When I got my A10 the min and max were set to 5 and 16, and the ramp start was 4. It was certainly gentle.

You could suggest to the DME that they use a manometer to check the pressures, both of your S9 and the new A10. Or you can make a manometer yourself by fastening a ruler to your hose and measuring how deep the end is when the bubbles stop. Something 10 or 12 inches deep will be enough for an A- or C-PAP machine. It's possible the calibration of either machine may be off.

The claim for 'high initial pressure' is BS, so I would try to find another DME, if possible.
08-02-2016 03:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
green wings Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 547
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Respironics System One RemStar Pro (460)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10
Humidifier: integrated humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 13.0 cm
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: using CPAP since Jan. 2016

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: US

Post: #7
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
So are you or aren't you using the Ramp function on your S9? Because you can't have the minimum treatment pressure set at 4 cm and be using Ramp.

If your minimum treatment pressure is set at 4 cm, and you were having an AirSense 10 AutoSet machine demonstrated in Auto mode starting off at 4 cm, the machine very well may have sensed something in your breathing that it thought was an apnea event and increased the pressure in response.



(08-02-2016 01:04 PM)apnmhe Wrote:  I'm familiar with my pressures (4-17), and on how to enter and use the clinician's menus (on my S9).
08-02-2016 04:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
apnmhe Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: ResMed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4-17
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: United States

Post: #8
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
My S9's clinician's menu settings:

Mode=AutoSet
Max Ramp=35min
Min/Max pressure=4.0-17.0 cmH20
Start Pressure=4.0 cmH20
EPR=Full Time
EPR Level=2
SmartStart=On

On the user menu, Ramp=20min

My S9 starts gently, almost imperceptibly.

I never used the A10 at the DME's office for more than a few seconds, as the starting pressure was so high (before the machine had a chance to analyze my breathing). We tried it a few times.

(08-02-2016 04:13 PM)green wings Wrote:  So are you or aren't you using the Ramp function on your S9? Because you can't have the minimum treatment pressure set at 4 cm and be using Ramp.

If your minimum treatment pressure is set at 4 cm, and you were having an AirSense 10 AutoSet machine demonstrated in Auto mode starting off at 4 cm, the machine very well may have sensed something in your breathing that it thought was an apnea event and increased the pressure in response.



(08-02-2016 01:04 PM)apnmhe Wrote:  I'm familiar with my pressures (4-17), and on how to enter and use the clinician's menus (on my S9).
08-08-2016 12:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
kwhenrykerr Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 242
Joined: May 2016

Machine: DreamStation Auto, AirSense 10 Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: Philips, AirSense 10
CPAP Pressure: 12-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: 2L added oxygen with CMS50F to check usage

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #9
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
Are you turning on the A10 before placing the Mask on your face ? If so the A10 will need to go to max volume output to reach 4cmH2O. If you then place the mask on your face it will have a sudden increase in pressure before it can reset.

I use the auto start setting on my A10. The A10 is off untill I place the mask on my face and inhale. The pressure will slowly come up to my settings as I fasten the mask in place.

I started this to help get a better fit of my mask before reaching my settings. If I started the A10 before placing the mask on the seals around my mask would blow out and be hard to get back in place.

Hope this helps you. I love my A10 Sleep-well

Just my personal opinion. My posts are not medical advice or a statement of fact. Please consult a qualified physician or other qualified medical personnel. Please comply with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, and protocols.
08-08-2016 02:35 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cands Online

Preferred Members

Posts: 44
Joined: Jul 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Amara View
Humidifier: Inbuilt
CPAP Pressure: 12.6 - 17.2
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #10
RE: high AirSense 10 initial pressure?
I'm not sure if it will make any difference, but check in the menu to ensure the correct mask type is selected.
08-08-2016 02:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,452 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 551 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Events way too high! sfrasher 22 1,195 11-22-2016 06:35 PM
Last Post: sfrasher
  High AHI (7.5) and don't know why fotomatt1 15 646 11-20-2016 05:38 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 510 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 394 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,264 11-10-2016 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)