Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] myair no longer working
#21
RE: myair no longer working
CDMA is a dinosaur that is quickly lumbering off to the digital dustbin.  I am not making a hasty generalization here, but MOST U.S. carriers are setting sunset dates to terminate their 2/3G radio services in favor of LTE, and develop new infrastructure capabilities in the 5G realm.  As an example, Verizon announced in 2016 that it planned to retire CDMA and its commensurate network equipment in 2020.  That date has now been moved up to sometime this year--and they are presently refusing to activate any such equipment a consumer may bring into their network.  T-Mobile I believe has already made the jump.

I do not know if the current models of AirSense have upgraded to the LTE standard and band.  There are a number of engineering challenges for this, including processor types, antenna design, and a serious firmware change.  Even so, there are possible issues with LTE connecting if ResMed does not take steps to negotiate device 'acceptance' with carriers.  Veri$on for example, requires device of any sort manufacturers to submit technical specs and device prototypes for testing.  Each device must meet the full specs that smartphones use--and then and only then will the network recognize and allow the devices registration handshake for connection.  Similarly and perhaps a boding of their corporate attitude--they are closing the door on 'open' or unlocked phone & tablet devices that were not purchased through their supply sources.  It's all about the Benjamins...

The Myair online feature is great for a glance, and especially for the average CPAP/APAP user.  My thoughts go deeper--to the full data that is transmitted to a DME or pulmonologist's office for their access to the data and report generation.  Sure, I can clone the data from the SD card to a stick and carry it in for visits, but this is just one more level of nuisance and opportunity for delays and miscommunication--and perhaps an impossibility for technology alliterates to accomplish.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  New REsmed was working then not? Help? tierdal 8 209 04-05-2021, 01:51 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Cant get vauto to go with myair app Cpap626 4 204 03-28-2021, 11:17 AM
Last Post: Cpap626
  NO LONGER NEED C PAP THERAPY? CPAPSC 1 188 03-13-2021, 01:52 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Accuracy of REsmed MyAir hegel 3 264 03-06-2021, 08:37 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  New User - not sure it's working for me BradT 10 297 02-23-2021, 04:06 PM
Last Post: BradT
  PhillipsRespironics is no longer automatically raising pressure LesliePR 5 210 01-27-2021, 10:19 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Resmed bilevel working well (low AHI) but still needing many hours of sleep AlgebraicMisery 6 348 12-23-2020, 11:07 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.