Post Reply 
[Equipment] shutting down
Author Message
pilvikki Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: S9 Escape
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4-6
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #1
Question shutting down
hi!

a new customer with a problem: my machine shuts down, probably right after the ramp time is over. i reset it, it shuts down again. night after night.

i've called the Resmed people, i've had the machine exchanged for a new one.... and no difference.

when you look at the read-out, it shows no activity whatsoever.

it's an S9, Escape with H5i and i'm using a Swift FX for her, that blows air away from the face as if it has a leak, but i don't know if this is normal. [i have to soap it up to see where it's coming from].

i had another machine that did the same thing: starts off like it was trying to blow me up. [visions of finding myself floating at the ceiling, very uncomfortable if you don't expect it.] i then hit start/stop button and it settles down, yet shuts down after something like 30 mins.

the power issue i've read about does not seem to apply, for that would mean several outages every night.

any suggestions would be great!

thanks!
04-04-2012 02:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Rritch Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 107
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics System One Pro (450)
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: Respironics System One
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NoVA USA

Post: #2
RE: shutting down
(04-04-2012 02:22 PM)pilvikki Wrote:  hi!

a new customer with a problem: my machine shuts down, probably right after the ramp time is over. i reset it, it shuts down again. night after night.

i've called the Resmed people, i've had the machine exchanged for a new one.... and no difference.

when you look at the read-out, it shows no activity whatsoever.

it's an S9, Escape with H5i and i'm using a Swift FX for her, that blows air away from the face as if it has a leak, but i don't know if this is normal. [i have to soap it up to see where it's coming from].

i had another machine that did the same thing: starts off like it was trying to blow me up. [visions of finding myself floating at the ceiling, very uncomfortable if you don't expect it.] i then hit start/stop button and it settles down, yet shuts down after something like 30 mins.

the power issue i've read about does not seem to apply, for that would mean several outages every night.

any suggestions would be great!

thanks!

The only thing that I can think of is that out off is enabled and there are SEVERE leaks making the machine think that you have taken the mask off. The Mirage FX for her does vent out the front of the maks. Check to make sure that the elbow is securely seated into the mask. What pressure is your machine set at?
04-04-2012 02:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #3
RE: shutting down
Try this:
Take the mask off the hose.
Put your fingers around the end of the hose to allow some air through but not all of it. Kind of like what a mask does.
Turn the machine on. If it runs, then the mask is faulty. After it has run longer than it usually does, take your hand completely away and let it blow free. If it shuts off again, then it is set to what Rritch said above.
If it does not, then something else is wrong. Did you get both machines from same supplier? Are they setting something up wrong?
04-04-2012 02:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
greatunclebill Offline

Members-b

Posts: 549
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics System one Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: System one
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreViewer

Other Comments: quattro fx full face

Sex: Male
Location: L.A. (Lower Alabama)

Post: #4
RE: shutting down
(04-04-2012 02:52 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  Try this:
Take the mask off the hose.
Put your fingers around the end of the hose to allow some air through but not all of it. Kind of like what a mask does.
Turn the machine on. If it runs, then the mask is faulty. After it has run longer than it usually does, take your hand completely away and let it blow free. If it shuts off again, then it is set to what Rritch said above.
If it does not, then something else is wrong. Did you get both machines from same supplier? Are they setting something up wrong?

if this doesn't work, you need to take the machine, mask and everything else to your dme, put it on in their office and try to replicate the problem in front of them. if it does it at home it should do it in front of them. if it doesn't do it in front of them or they can't spot something you're doing wrong then perhaps it is a power issue in your home or with the plug-in you are using. maybe you have a bad line coming from the power pole to your home that is causing dirty power that the cpap is sensitive to and other things are not. 2 bad machines in a row is 99.999999% out of the question on a normal day.
(This post was last modified: 04-04-2012 03:26 PM by greatunclebill.)
04-04-2012 03:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: shutting down
Hi pilvikki, welcome to apnea board
I've read that the power brick gives off heat and if it,s too close to the humidifier heat sensor it will shut off the machine and it,s recommended to keep the machine well ventilated and away from walls and the power brick to be away from the machine as possible.

Ask your doctor to help you exchanging the S9 Escape with the S9 Elite
The S9 Escape is a basic machine with no data other than compliance to meet insurance requirement but it doesn't meet your requirement or help the Doc in any useful way. It doesn't shows your AHI (AI, HI, CAI) or leak which is essential to monitor the therapy and also the S9 Elite and S9 AutoSet have added features like mask fit, CSA detection
(This post was last modified: 04-04-2012 05:36 PM by zonk.)
04-04-2012 03:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cbramsey Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 900
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i with ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 6 - 12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Supreme Overlord of Web Darkness

Sex: Male
Location: NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: shutting down
(04-04-2012 03:24 PM)greatunclebill Wrote:  
(04-04-2012 02:52 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  Try this:
Take the mask off the hose.
Put your fingers around the end of the hose to allow some air through but not all of it. Kind of like what a mask does.
Turn the machine on. If it runs, then the mask is faulty. After it has run longer than it usually does, take your hand completely away and let it blow free. If it shuts off again, then it is set to what Rritch said above.
If it does not, then something else is wrong. Did you get both machines from same supplier? Are they setting something up wrong?

if this doesn't work, you need to take the machine, mask and everything else to your dme, put it on in their office and try to replicate the problem in front of them. if it does it at home it should do it in front of them. if it doesn't do it in front of them or they can't spot something you're doing wrong then perhaps it is a power issue in your home or with the plug-in you are using. maybe you have a bad line coming from the power pole to your home that is causing dirty power that the cpap is sensitive to and other things are not. 2 bad machines in a row is 99.999999% out of the question on a normal day.

Try out your equipment at the DME's office to see if the issue replicates itself. If it does, great. Now you can resolve it.

If it doesn't, I agree with greatunclebill there is something power related in your home.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-04-2012 05:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pilvikki Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: S9 Escape
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 4-6
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #7
RE: shutting down
oh WOW! this is awesome! i figured i'd give a couple of days to get a reply - while my daughter is nattering about "you obviously don't know what you're doing, have them show you again!" [one of those people you always hear "she means well" about...] don't guys have a life either. lol!

anyway, i'll try all the things you suggested and if noting works, i'll haul the lot over - with a book - and sit in their office to see what happens.

bummer, she told me that was their best machine...
04-04-2012 06:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,967
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #8
RE: shutting down
Same type thing happened to me on occasion with my S9 AutoSet... it was the Auto-ON / Auto-OFF function. I would move in my sleep, jar the mask a bit loose to where the leak rate went up, and the Auto-OFF sensor thought I had taken the mask off and it shut the machine down.

Turn Auto-ON/Auto-OFF completely off... I'd be willing to bet good money that's the issue, as Rritch said.

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

04-04-2012 06:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #9
RE: shutting down
Apology-2 The SmartStart/Stop feature is not available on the S9 Escape or S9 Escape Auto
May be been added recently to the Escape Dont-know
http://www.resmed.com/us/products/s9_ser...nc=dealers
04-04-2012 06:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,967
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #10
RE: shutting down
(04-04-2012 06:31 PM)zonk Wrote:  Apology-2 The SmartStart/Stop feature is not available on the S9 Escape or S9 Escape Auto
May be been added recently to the Escape Dont-know
http://www.resmed.com/us/products/s9_ser...nc=dealers

Huh, didn't know that... thanks Zonk. Smile

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

04-04-2012 07:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  shutting off the cpap Resmed airsense 10 thor48 5 604 07-05-2016 04:54 AM
Last Post: holden4th
Sad tried to adjust pressure/cpap shutting off Wendy LHommedieu 7 5,689 08-28-2012 08:20 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)