Post Reply 
[Equipment] using longer/different tubing with APAP
Author Message
MikeBY Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: nuance pro gel
Humidifier: integrated Airsense 10 + climateLine tubing
CPAP Pressure: APAP 4-14
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since 2000, Old RemStar Plus LX/HC100/breeze. 'BOUT TIME I REPLACED IT !!

Sex: Male
Location: southern california

Post: #1
Question using longer/different tubing with APAP
I just got the Airsense A10 autoset, but in the past have used fixed CPAP. I route my tubing over the back of the headboard to keep it from pulling, so have always used 2 six foot standard tubing coupled together.

With the new APAP unit, I wonder if using the tubing extension (std tube 1st, then slimline tube) will cause a problem with the pressure setting/sensing aspect of the unit.

Also, has anyone heard of a climateline tubing longer than the 6 ft standard, or if it can be extended?

Thanks in advance,

Michael
10-05-2014 08:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #2
RE: using longer/different tubing with APAP
I think the official answer is "no."

I suspect it would mostly cause problems with EPR, bilevel, distinguishing centrals, and maintaining a precise pressure at the mask. I suspect the problems would be minor.

I don't think it would miss apneas, but it might not detect which type.

Try it and see how it works.

I don't think there's a longer heated hose option.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
10-05-2014 08:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,855
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #3
RE: using longer/different tubing with APAP
There is a 3 meter standard 22mm hose available. And there is a setting for that hose.
I think two different diameter hoses more that a slight issue. The reflection boundary can wreak havoc on the FOT wavefront as far as differentiating among types of apnea. In straight CPAP mode -- perhaps not such a big deal; but in Auto, it may result in inappropriate pressure increase response.

If you must have 4 meters (~12 ft) better to splice (couple) two 22mm hoses.

I am a multi-discipline engineer with many years in flow dynamics.

Can you not make the 3 meter hose work? I use a 2 meter; and still thread it through a bracket in a small wall shelf.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-05-2014 09:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: using longer/different tubing with APAP
Hi MikeBY,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I think there is only one length of "climateLine" hose.
Best of luck to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
10-05-2014 10:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Fat Rat Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 47
Joined: Sep 2014

Machine: PR System One Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Weinmann JOYCEeasy FF L
Humidifier: PR System One+Heated Tube
CPAP Pressure: 8 mb CPAP
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Translation with help of Google ;-)

Sex: Male
Location: Germany, Rhein-Main-Area

Post: #5
RE: using longer/different tubing with APAP
Hello,

there ist a

'CPAP Hose Connector'

with the additional information: 'Important Tips: CPAP machines may need to re calibrated if more than fifteen feet of tubing is used.'

It should be possible to connect the standard heated hose to a another universal heated hose with its own power supply as

'Hybernite Rainout Control Heated CPAP Tube System'. There are some more of these.

I think justMongo is right - I would prefer one standard tube, too.

Greetings
Fat Rat
(This post was last modified: 10-05-2014 10:49 AM by Fat Rat.)
10-05-2014 10:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
MikeBY Offline

Members

Posts: 8
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: nuance pro gel
Humidifier: integrated Airsense 10 + climateLine tubing
CPAP Pressure: APAP 4-14
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since 2000, Old RemStar Plus LX/HC100/breeze. 'BOUT TIME I REPLACED IT !!

Sex: Male
Location: southern california

Post: #6
RE: using longer/different tubing with APAP
Well, the tube combination caused the auto shutoff not to work, so I figure it's causing too much resistance for accurate adjustment. I got the climateline hose in for the Airsense 10, and it's a narrow diameter (15mm?) hose, same as the slimeline not the standard diameter hose. What a difference in weight... it's quite heavy. I did discover that the connector in the back of the airsense 10 swivels, so the climateline hose, with it's 90 degree connector works great.
I'll figure out some kind of clip to keep the hose from pulling..
Still adjusting to a mask that doesn't leak.. The Nuance Pro is SO much better than the old Breeze mask that I had it's unreal.. Can't make it leak unless I really pull on it.

Thanks for the input.

Michael
10-10-2014 05:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Medicare Advantage Coverage for APAP Evie 4 246 12-05-2016 09:49 PM
Last Post: Evie
  Tubing size jmayer180 7 293 11-14-2016 11:46 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  cpap and apap not effictive Ezil71 109 3,151 11-05-2016 11:19 AM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Unable to clear throat while on APAP NorthernGuy 5 313 10-17-2016 08:18 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Apap I_will_never_sleep_again 2 295 10-14-2016 02:58 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Travel to Australia with Apap. Newbee2016 10 547 09-24-2016 12:06 PM
Last Post: SharonN
  Looking for complete list of AUTO apap's compatible with Sleepyhead Lanco 9 479 09-21-2016 08:08 PM
Last Post: Sleepster

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)