Post Reply 
[Equipment] will not adjust
Author Message
jimM Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: philips respironics
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: system one
Humidifier: philips
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
will not adjust
I have a respironics bipapauto Bi-flex machine. I have read how to go into the setup mode and have tried that many times but nothing changes. I wanted to go to the CPAP mode but it seems like the machine is locked and I can't make any changes. Is this because i got the machine thru my medical insurance (Kaiser). It shows on the screen that I have made the changes but it seems to totally ignore what I have done and continues with the same pressure, bipap mode etc. that I got when I was given the machine. I have never talked to Kaiser about changing the settings but they do say that once I have the machine it is mine and even if I change medical insurance I don't have to give it back or pay for it. I want to change because the Bipap mode does not work for me as well as the Cpap mode. I thought it would work better for me but I was wrong.
11-13-2014 01:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: will not adjust
Hello jimM and welcome

My guess, the machine do not accept any changes while the SD card is in the machine as the settings is locked on the card and always revert back to the old settings

Either remove the SD card and make your changes or get a new SD card
Cards are cheap, not necessary to get Respironcis card or big card, 1GB or 2GB card will do the job
11-13-2014 01:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
jimM Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: philips respironics
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: system one
Humidifier: philips
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: will not adjust
It is my understanding that the SD card only records events. But, just in case I have tried to change the program with the SD card out, changing the little slide switch on the side of the SD card and then trying to change the program. All the different permutations I can think of with no results
11-13-2014 01:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: will not adjust
Hi jimM,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I'm not able to help you with your settings but,hopefully you will be able to get your machine set up the way you want it.
Hang in there for more suggestions and much success as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
11-13-2014 05:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PollCat Offline
Apnea Board Polling Administrator
Monitors

Posts: 1,576
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: H5i Cleanable with ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 18
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAP-ing since 1995; Type 2 Diabetes; Chronic Asthma; Gout

Sex: Male
Location: Westfield, IN

Post: #5
RE: will not adjust
Take the SD card out; make your changes on the machine and then re-install the SD card. If that doesn't work; buy a new SD card and start over. Question: You did obtain and follow the instructions in the Clinician's Manual for your machine, right?


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.
INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-13-2014 05:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
jimM Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: philips respironics
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: system one
Humidifier: philips
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #6
RE: will not adjust
As I said, been there done that. That is removing the SD card and tried to reprogram. I emailed Philips but they said because it was a prescription they could not help me. Again it is my understanding that the SD card does not control the machines programming but just records all your sleeping events. the machine will run without the SD card in it. I pulled off the SD cover plate and you can see additional connections can be made to the back of the machine and I think that is where the sleep tech. programs the machine.
11-13-2014 07:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #7
RE: will not adjust
The SD card may be preventing your adjustment from working. The DME can use the Encore program to put new pressure settings on the card. When the card is then put into the machine, it will set the settings to what is written on the card. The card can be set to reprogram your machine only one time, or it can be set to reprogram your machine every time you turn the machine on.

I forget the exact timing on which the card will rewrite the machine. It may be every time you start the machine, or it may be every time you insert the card into the machine. The point is that it may be set to overwrite your settings over and over.

This has nothing to do with the write protect switch on the card.

To test this out, remove the SD card from your machine and put it on a shelf somewhere. Don't put the old card back into your machine.

Then change the settings on your machine and see if they stick. If you want to record your data, you will need to use another SD card or format your old card in your PC to eliminate the old settings.

(11-13-2014 07:38 PM)jimM Wrote:  Again it is my understanding that the SD card does not control the machines programming but just records all your sleeping events. the machine will run without the SD card in it. I pulled off the SD cover plate and you can see additional connections can be made to the back of the machine and I think that is where the sleep tech. programs the machine.

Your understanding is wrong. The SD card can optionally be set to control the machine settings and override changes you make.

There are also wireless modems on the back of some machines that can override your settings. You probably don't have one because I think it covers up the SD card slot.

If you take the card out, and don't have a wireless modem, you should be able to change your settings. If you put a new SD card in, you should retain your control. Any normal SD or SDHC card 2 GB or above should work.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
11-13-2014 09:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Galactus Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,388
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: Phillips Respironics System One PRS1 DS760P Auto BiPAP
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Airfit P10 Nasal Pillow
Humidifier: System One Heated Humidifier + Climate Line
CPAP Pressure: E/I 13/20 PS 4/7 BiFlex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Sleep can be a good thing.

Sex: Male
Location: USA

Post: #8
RE: will not adjust
I personally would just take out the card, put it in a PC and format it. Program the machine with the card out, and then put the card in.

Might I ask why you think the CPAP is better than using the BiPAP? Or actually the BiPap Auto? Just wondering as I switched from CPAP to Bilevel Auto and it is way better for me.

If everyone thinks alike, then someone isn't thinking.
Everyone knows something, together we could know everything.
11-14-2014 01:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,016
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #9
RE: will not adjust
(11-14-2014 01:21 AM)Galactus Wrote:  Might I ask why you think the CPAP is better than using the BiPAP? Or actually the BiPap Auto? Just wondering as I switched from CPAP to Bilevel Auto and it is way better for me.

Yes but we all know that you are different. You are not the same like R_G. Laugh-a-lot

Best Regards,

PaytonA
11-14-2014 03:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
jimM Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: philips respironics
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: system one
Humidifier: philips
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #10
RE: will not adjust
Maybe if I had the ability to adjust the Bipap I could get used to it. I donot like the pressure increase when it detects an air leak and I also found myself waking up because I had been mouth breathing and my mouth was so dry I could not even swallow. I have taken out the SD card and then tried to reprogram the machine, I have then started the machine without the SD card and it still has not changed. I did not say that CPAP is better than BIPAP I said it worked better for me. Maybe I have not given the BIPAP enough of a chance but I hate waking up with that dry mouth. Thank you all for your advise. I will keep trying. This is sort of like the first time I picked up my machine, years ago. I found myself in a room with many other people who had the same problem (apnea). That was encouraging to know I was not alone. And am continually amazed at how many people use CPAP, BIPAP and how it has sort of come out of the closet and it is commonly talked about now.
11-14-2014 07:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Adjust Min or Max Pressure for High OA TheLionSleeps 5 536 07-27-2016 04:28 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  how to adjust clock on Resmed autoset 9 Marl1n 3 467 07-25-2016 10:12 AM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  Resmed s10 ramp starting pressure, can you adjust it? Nytro_Mike 4 715 04-14-2016 02:26 PM
Last Post: Nytro_Mike
  How do I adjust pressure on Viasys BreatheX avalon.uk 11 3,929 04-09-2016 01:31 AM
Last Post: vsheline
Question [Pressure] Should I Adjust BIpap settings BIGELI 3 951 01-07-2016 12:13 AM
Last Post: PollCat
  How adjust pressure ResMed iAVAP H9i shelldill 2 559 12-21-2015 11:06 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper
  [Pressure] 6 months in, time to adjust pressure? Rob S 3 683 12-07-2015 10:05 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)