Post Reply 
Error Code E-8
Author Message
DarthTolkien Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: REMStar Plus
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage II
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Error Code E-8
Hello all. First post here. I have a Pre-2007 REMStar Plus with Humidifier. I recently went on a road trip for work. I brought my machine with me and it worked fine. When I got back home I plugged it in and all saved data disappeared. The hour count as well as the pressure setting.

I got in to Clinician Mode. It flashed the E-8 code. Now, I can't get out of Clinician Mode for it to save the pressure setting. The humidifier has the back flow valve so I am pretty sure no water got in.

I know E-8 says to replace the main PCA. Fine but anyone know the part number for this?

Thanks all!
11-01-2013 10:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Peter_C Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,308
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: System One DS960HS
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro "MED"
Humidifier: Attached
CPAP Pressure: Auto mode-script is:15/3/3
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic Other Software

Other Comments: Severe obstructive sleep apnea 1999/Just got an ASV machine

Sex: Male
Location: Akron, Ohio USA

Post: #2
RE: Error Code E-8
Welcome to the forum, hang tight as I am sure someone will be along shortly with some good answers for you.

*I* am not a DOCTOR or any type of Health Care Professional. My thoughts/suggestions/ideas are strictly only my opinions.

"Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you. Jesus Christ and the American Soldier. One died for your Soul, the other for your Freedom."
11-02-2013 12:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #3
RE: Error Code E-8
You'd need the Service Manual. I don't think we have those.

And yes, it's a RAM chip and they say to replace the board. The part number may be on the board, actually.

http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...E-0_-_E-20

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-02-2013 12:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: Error Code E-8
Hi DarthTolkien,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and best of luck.

trish6hundred
11-02-2013 12:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
RonWessels Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 465
Joined: Jun 2013

Machine: REMstar Auto AFlex DS560TS
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ComfortGel Blue
Humidifier: REMstar Heated Tube DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 11 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS50F Pulse Oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #5
RE: Error Code E-8
I would be surprised if the main PCA is meant to be a field-serviceable unit. You may have to take it to a Philips Respironics repair depot.

Sadly, my guess is that you will spend less money and grief by simply replacing the entire device with a modern unit. For that, if you are going to stay with PRS1 machines, get either the Pro (for fixed-pressure treatment) or the Auto if you can manage the small extra cost. Both of these are data-capable machines, so you can keep track of your treatment.

I also find the Auto more comfortable at the higher pressures, since it will automatically adjust to the pressure I need, rather than the one I have configured for it.
11-07-2013 06:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [CPAP] Error code E33 1captnronrosser 3 264 10-14-2016 04:10 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] Service Required Error Codes - Inner Workings of a CPAP machine SuperSleeper 18 65,271 10-10-2016 01:48 PM
Last Post: juan345
  ResMed S9 Humidifer 5i Error Message atta_gurrrrl 3 2,093 07-08-2016 10:58 AM
Last Post: Moe52
  A10 error- tubing blocked check your tubing dwd1249 9 623 07-08-2016 09:33 AM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Airsense Autoset 10, "Error: power connector in rear is not plugged in" Possum 11 1,150 06-08-2016 05:54 PM
Last Post: sdb7802
  [CPAP] Resmed System Error 101F???? CJM99 10 815 06-08-2016 04:53 AM
Last Post: CJM99
Angry [Equipment] ResMed S9 AutoSet - Error message! rocknroehl 2 1,090 03-24-2016 08:45 PM
Last Post: rocknroehl

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)