Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Face mask ?
Face mask ?
Newbie here, have been using APAP for a week now. Doing ok, have been able to stay on the machine progressing from 3.5 hrs to 5.5 hrs last night. I was started on FFM Resmed, it's ok but my issue is the thing feels huge! Impossible to read before sleep because I must wear glasses. I'm a mouth breather but was wondering if it's possible to train myself to nose breath and wear something like the Dreamwear. Or any other suggestions. My apnea events have been down from 32 to 2.5 with the FFM.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Face mask ?
Yes, it's possible to train yourself to breath through nose only. This takes a little practice but does work.

Place your tongue to the roof of your mouth with tip of tongue behind front teeth. Then gently suck your tongue upwards. This action helps to place your tongue in a natural position and forms a seal at the back of your throat. This way if you open your mouth, no air will escape.

You may have to wear a chin strap until you master this, but a small price to pay to be able to wear a different mask like the DreamWear or better yet a nasal pillow mask.

Good Luck!
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.apneaboard.com

Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing therapy
OSCAR supported machines
Mask Primer

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE.  ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.  INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
Thank you. This has been tough but I'm determined to make it work.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi Thunderbritches,
WELCOME to the forum.!