Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

First of what I am sure will be many questions
First of what I am sure will be many questions
Hello all,

I am new. Not completely thrilled with the idea of having this challenge but I will make the best of it. I have researched everything I can and it appears that I may be in the minority and not have OA but mostly CA type events, which if I understand correctly is more difficult to treat since positive pressure keeping the airway open doesn't seem to be my major issue. My untreated AHI was 40+ so the CPAP is certainly making a difference.

Three questions for the group.

1) my DreamMapper IOS app says all is fine and reports 100% Mask Fit, 1 Disconnect, 0:01hrs Large Leak, Large Leak 0.3% but SleepyHead says "You mask is leaking way to much...Talk to your CPAP Advisor"

2) It seems like something needs to change. I was going to try a full mask?

3) Do I need to consider a different type of machine?

[attachment=2639]

Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: First of what I am sure will be many questions
Welcome

You have a low level of CA now, but most of what is labeled CA is right at the beginning of your sleep schedule, and is likely what we call "sleep/wake junk" You certainly have OSA, and it is largely mitigated by the CPAP. If you subtract out the CA events that occur in the first hour there, you have a treated AHI

How long have you been using the machine? Some of this may subside as you become accustomed to it.

You are on a constant pressure of 12. Your profile says you have an APAP, so I am guessing you had a in-lab titration and that they saw CPAP induced CA when you had pressure changes and they put you on 12 as a tradeoff --- although that is a guess