Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Pressure] Widely varying pressures question
Widely varying pressures question
Hi All,
  I am relatively new to CPAP and sleeping well  Bigwink

One big negative is that my machine is not compatible with SleepyHead, so I have to go on the figures that I get from the machine and the very limited cellphone app . My "provider" also "provided" only until I bought the machine and accessories, after that they are much less responsive to questions than before. I guess that they cater for the uninformed masses who do not ask too many questions. Also, it seems to go about "the sale" primarily  Thinking-about

What I have seen this far is that CPAP works well for me (as could be expected). One puzzling aspect is that the pressures from night to night keep varying. One night it will be 7.0 - 7.5 (90% - 95%), while it may be 12.0 - 13.5 just the following night. The AHI values are good.

1) Is this "normal"?
2) What is the significance of this? Should it not stabilise at SOME value (range)?
3) I assume that it is "better" to have a smaller 90% to 95% spread, rather than a large difference?
4) What causes this shift between nights?

Luckily the autoPAP adjusts to this, I just hope that it does so sensibly (but cannot see any graphs to confirm).

One last question: what is the "time in exhale puff" (provided as a % by the machine)? I understand the definition thereof, but it does not make sense to me when that figure is not zero when using a FFM, as exhaling through the mouth cannot be detected when using a FFM. When I use the Nose Mask I understand the issue, but I keep wondering whether it is correct when looking at figures when wearing the FFM.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Widely varying pressures question