Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Flashing on off button on Remstar M
#1
I know this is going to sound unusual but I am a nurse practitioner that goes to Rwanda Africa and help with preterm babies. I was given a donated Remstar M CPAP machine that was working wonderfully for the preterm infants. Prior to this donated machine we used bottles saline needles and an oxygen concentrator to simulate CPAP. Anyway the machine stopped working and the on and off button is flashing there are no error reports. Is there any thing I can do to get it to work again?
Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hi suep and WELCOME! to the forum.!
I don't know the answer to your question but hang in there and someone will be able to help you soon. Best of luck to you.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
The main fix for odd problems is to unplug it, wait a minute or so, then plug back in.

Is there any kind of error code or beeping?
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#4
[quote='PaulaO2' pid='24615' dateline='1354996215']
The main fix for odd problems is to unplug it, wait a minute or so, then plug back in.

Is there any kind of error code or beeping?

No it seems like it is going to work then the on and off button starts flashing.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Hello
Did you get any manuals with the machine? They may have information that would help solve the problem.
GeneS


Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Yes it only said something about the humidifier. If I knew for sure I could buy a new humidifier and take it back with me. I think the workers at the hospital could replace it.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Hello,
Try unplugging the humidifier to the cpap machine and plug it back in. Sounds like the humidifier is not connecting with the machine. If that doesn't work, you would have to get another humidifier.

Hope this helps. I'm a registered polysomnagrapher and new to this site.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(12-10-2012, 12:11 PM)TooMuch Wrote: I'm a registered polysomnagrapher and new to this site.

Welcome - TooMuch!

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(12-10-2012, 12:11 PM)TooMuch Wrote: Hello,
Try unplugging the humidifier to the cpap machine and plug it back in. Sounds like the humidifier is not connecting with the machine. If that doesn't work, you would have to get another humidifier.

I know the humidifier light flashes on and off when there are problems with the humidifier, but the OP said the on/off button was flashing, not the humidifier light. However, it's possible the on/off light flashes if the humidifier isn't right, too.

Suep, is it the button you push to turn it on, or the light on the rotary knob on the humidifier? Does your machine have the humidifier?

By the way, suep, did you lift up the little door and look at the display? I hate to mention the obvious, but a surprising number of people never realize there's a display.

Suep, try removing the blower unit from the humidifier. First, always remove the water tank before moving the machine. The blower unit sits ON the humidifier, there is no latch. Lift up on the front of the blower unit to disengage it from the humidifier. Plug the power supply into just the blower unit.

If you end up wanting to use it without the humidifier, you have to have a little connector piece that snaps on the back of the blower unit to connect it to the hose without the humidifier. It's about a $9 part available online.

Also, suep, do you have the clinican's manual? You can download it from the CPAP setup manuals link at the top of most pages on this board.
Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
Suep ... Supplier #2 sell used machines low hours at discount prices
also they donate machines to American Sleep Apnea Association
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...plier-List

Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] Travel Battery for Respironics REMstar PRO 460P Shonufff 2 63 Yesterday, 03:33 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  Definitions terms used in Respironics REMstar Pro Sultec 4 165 04-06-2017, 07:52 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Philips Respironcs Remstar BiPAP error code E48 dcubed 6 195 04-03-2017, 10:07 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
Gross [CPAP] Respironics REMStar System One Series 60 Repair lempface 6 465 02-04-2017, 07:01 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  [Equipment] REMStar Pus C-Flex reset TxUtopian 36 33,214 01-30-2017, 09:25 PM
Last Post: cophbulls
  Setting the Time on RemStar Auto IQ 450 P HenryECole81 2 213 01-29-2017, 12:53 PM
Last Post: HenryECole81
  Remstar Auto M Series "Service Required" msgill59 4 560 01-22-2017, 08:57 AM
Last Post: msgill59

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.