Post Reply 
Foreign travel with CPAP
Author Message
atk1031 Offline

Members

Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Series
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: California USA

Post: #1
Foreign travel with CPAP
I have a ResMed S9 AutoSet with nasal mask. Does anyone have experience traveling to Europe with a similar CPAP? Any problem with the voltage (like your machine blowing up)? It's supposed to be usable (with adapter, of course), but I'm a bit wary. Thanks!
08-27-2014 05:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: Foreign travel with CPAP
Hi atk1031
From ResMed: Can I use my ResMed CPAP system in other countries?
All ResMed CPAP systems have a power supply that automatically adjusts to the various power supplies in different parts of the world. All devices will accept 100-240V, 50-60Hz, without any special adjustment.

Please note:
you will need to use the correct plug adapter for the power outlet of the country you are visiting.

Bon Voyage
08-27-2014 05:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,855
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #3
RE: Foreign travel with CPAP
There are two different plug adapters for Europe.
There are the Brits with their 3 prong 240 VAC plug; and then the continent where a simple two prong round pin adapter is needed.
Brit plug:
[Image: 220px-Moulded_and_rewireable_BS_1363_plugs_%28horizontal%29.jpg]

Brit outlets have switches -- so make sure the outlet is switched on; and their plugs are internally fused. (Shocking!)

Europlug for the continent:
[Image: 220px-Euro-Flachstecker_2.jpg]

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-27-2014 06:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,068
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #4
RE: Foreign travel with CPAP
You can find an all-in-one power adapter just about anywhere now. Look in the mobile tech section of Walmart, Target, or any place like that.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-27-2014 06:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
TheDuke Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 44
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: DeVilbiss Intellipap BiLevel DV-55D
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Activa
Humidifier: DeVilbiss IntelliPap
CPAP Pressure: CPAP Mode 9.0 cm.
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Western Kentucky USA

Post: #5
RE: Foreign travel with CPAP
[font=Arial][/font]
(08-27-2014 05:13 PM)atk1031 Wrote:  I have a ResMed S9 AutoSet with nasal mask. Does anyone have experience traveling to Europe with a similar CPAP? Any problem with the voltage (like your machine blowing up)? It's supposed to be usable (with adapter, of course), but I'm a bit wary. Thanks!

I have traveled to Europe several times with my machine. For quite a few years now, the ResMed and Respironics, and other machines have had so-called universal power supply that tolerates the 240V, 50 cycle power used in most of Europe. Like you I was very nervous the first time I tried it, but I have used three different machines in maybe 10 countries with no problems. You will need to get compatible socket adapters, but department stores, AAA offices, or on-line all sell them.I do urge having an extension cord because you may not find an outlet in reach of your bed.
08-28-2014 11:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
atk1031 Offline

Members

Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Series
CPAP Pressure: 5-15
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: California USA

Post: #6
RE: Foreign travel with CPAP
Thanks! I was pretty sure it was OK, but it's a relief to have this reassurance. I do have several adapters, but hadn't thought of an extension cord. Good suggestion.
08-29-2014 08:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
dakuda Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: May 2014

Machine: DS560HS
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 8.0
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: Foreign travel with CPAP
I like to use cords like this: [commercial link removed per Apnea Board rules. as an alternative, please tell folks to "search Amazon for '6-Feet European Power Cord for Notebook, Non-Polarized'" - this will get them to the product without posting the direct link]

You have to bring a cord for the power brick anyway, you might as well bring the right cord for country you visit. Since I don't need an adapter with this method, it saves a little bulk.




-----
Moderator Action: Link Removed
To maintain our status as an educational organization, the only commercial links allowed in this forum are to CPAP-related manufacturer websites. This is stated in the Apnea Board Rules with details given in the Commercial Links Policy section.
-----
(This post was last modified: 08-29-2014 08:58 PM by dakuda.)
08-29-2014 08:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Travel CPAP holden4th 5 302 11-13-2016 03:06 PM
Last Post: bill-e
  Travel CPAP that will run on 12V - 2016 update? ;-) NCZzzz 11 1,426 11-12-2016 12:07 AM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Looking for advice on new machine, good for travel - and adapting to life without PAP Hazel 8 494 11-08-2016 05:59 PM
Last Post: PsychoMike
  Travel Sized CPAP Machine billkenney 11 1,484 09-28-2016 11:46 AM
Last Post: bill-e
  Travel to Australia with Apap. Newbee2016 10 547 09-24-2016 12:06 PM
Last Post: SharonN
  Battery for Airplane Travel EmilySleeps 5 509 09-16-2016 02:00 PM
Last Post: PoolQ
  Camping and Travel 0rangebear 12 1,363 07-19-2016 01:15 PM
Last Post: MrGadget

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)