Post Reply 
Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
Author Message
dcgrafix Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 203
Joined: Sep 2012

Machine: Philips Respironics System One RemStar Pro with C-Flex+ (461CA)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro Large
Humidifier: Respironics System one
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic Other Software

Other Comments: Diabetes type 2

Sex: Male
Location: BC Canada

Post: #11
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
It is all too easy to forget to put the SD back!

For me My computer in on the main floor & the bedroom is upstairs through a steep set of stairs more like a ladder & by the time I go to bed I am juiced up with Zopiclone & for thoughts & memory are impaired.
That's my excuse on top of being a hose head & Sh** happens.
12-17-2012 12:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AuntElizabeth Offline

Members

Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: S9 Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 5.0 13.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #12
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
I have two questions regarding 'data'. I'm not sure where this info came from but about one week ago the S9 told me that I had slept for 12 hrs!! That did not happen. I went to bed around 11:15 and got up at about 5:30 or so. Are there any ideas why the screen would indicate 12.0 hrs? Also, I'm avg about 3.5 AHI but last Tues showed 0.6 AHI. If there is a prior user to the S9, could that person's 'data' get mixed in with mine?Unsure
02-07-2013 09:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #13
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
(02-07-2013 09:17 PM)AuntElizabeth Wrote:  I have two questions regarding 'data'. I'm not sure where this info came from but about one week ago the S9 told me that I had slept for 12 hrs!! That did not happen. I went to bed around 11:15 and got up at about 5:30 or so. Are there any ideas why the screen would indicate 12.0 hrs? Also, I'm avg about 3.5 AHI but last Tues showed 0.6 AHI. If there is a prior user to the S9, could that person's 'data' get mixed in with mine?Unsure
cpap day start from noon to noon. naps are included in total of hours of sleep
once my S9 showed double sessions, slept 6.5 hours but showed 13 hours
not sure what happen ... maybe aliens again

I did unplug the machine and never seen the aliens again

AHI can vary from night to the next
if wanted, you can format the card or get a new card
02-07-2013 09:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AuntElizabeth Offline

Members

Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: S9 Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 5.0 13.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #14
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
(02-07-2013 09:40 PM)zonk Wrote:  
(02-07-2013 09:17 PM)AuntElizabeth Wrote:  I have two questions regarding 'data'. I'm not sure where this info came from but about one week ago the S9 told me that I had slept for 12 hrs!! That did not happen. I went to bed around 11:15 and got up at about 5:30 or so. Are there any ideas why the screen would indicate 12.0 hrs? Also, I'm avg about 3.5 AHI but last Tues showed 0.6 AHI. If there is a prior user to the S9, could that person's 'data' get mixed in with mine?Unsure
cpap day start from noon to noon. naps are included in total of hours of sleep
once my S9 showed double sessions, slept 6.5 hours but showed 13 hours
not sure what happen ... maybe aliens again

I did unplug the machine and never seen the aliens again

AHI can vary from night to the next
if wanted, you can format the card or get a new card

I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one with occasional strange numbers.Bigwink

Now your response raises two more questions for me.
How do I format the card? I have to go to the DME with my card on 2/18 so she can check if I'm compliant. Will formatting the card wipe out my prior information?
02-09-2013 10:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,068
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #15
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
It will completely erase the card but when you put it back in the machine, it will be re-written. All they want is the hours and that will be there. You'll get detailed data for the past 7 days then limited data for day 8 on back.

You can format the card by putting it in your computer, going to "My Computer", right clicking it's icon, and choose "format". But be careful and make sure you are right clicking on the correct drive! It will say SD Card or similar.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-09-2013 02:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #16
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
(02-09-2013 10:02 AM)AuntElizabeth Wrote:  I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one with occasional strange numbers.Bigwink

Now your response raises two more questions for me.
How do I format the card? I have to go to the DME with my card on 2/18 so she can check if I'm compliant. Will formatting the card wipe out my prior information?

I suggest not formatting the card until after you check compliance.

Take the water tank out before moving it, and take the whole machine to your DME appointment. Even if there are problems with the card, the data is in the machine itself.

S9 machines are sometimes "strange" about the current day's data. It counts a "day" as noon to noon. It also seems to not write the data out immediately. Sometimes data doesn't show up for some time after you turn the machine off. It also can do strange things if the clock is set wrong.

If the S9 seems squirrely, unplug the power for a minute or so and plug it back in.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
02-09-2013 04:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #17
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
(02-09-2013 04:03 PM)archangle Wrote:  I suggest not formatting the card until after you check compliance.
I've never format anything but at times the S9 want to erase the data and write fresh one on the card
you must have a good reason
enlighten us, sil vous plait Coffee
(This post was last modified: 02-09-2013 04:20 PM by zonk.)
02-09-2013 04:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AuntElizabeth Offline

Members

Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: S9 Adapt
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 5.0 13.0
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #18
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
Thanks for the info on formatting the card. I'm reading the led screen every am right after sleep and the data seems to get written very quickly (no delays that I can determine). As a precaution, I'll bring both the 'data' card and the S9 with me to the DME (minus the humidifier). This DME likes to play her cards very close to the chest. I went in to pick up my new cushion on 1/31 and asked 'how am I supposed to know if I'm at 70%? Her response was that I'm not to worry about it and she will determine if I am. I don't like that and feel like I'm being treated like a child. I know something is wrong with the SD card because I downloaded the sleepyhead software about two weeks ago and it worked great for a few days (it wa giving me the graphs) but now it just gives AHI info and the little cube spins around saying 'no data'. Weird thing is the AHI it gives me in Sleepyhead doesn't agree with AHI shown on the led screen of the S9. I will request a new SD card frrm the DME and tell her upfront that I will be using the new Sleepyhead (when it comes out) and/or the Rescan to give me current data and that is the way it will have to be.
02-09-2013 08:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #19
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
when you insert the card into the machine
display a message briefly on the screen "Reading SD card"
and data get copied from the machine to the card

if any problem with the card, the S9 would not read the card and display different message
either the card inserted in locked position
or the S9 detect something written on the card and she like to erase the data on the card before coping new data on the card
its weirdo but that how it works

ResScan shows better compliance reporting but don,t work with Mac computers
02-09-2013 09:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #20
RE: Forgot to put SD Card Back in, Lost Memory?
(02-09-2013 08:05 PM)AuntElizabeth Wrote:  I will request a new SD card from the DME and tell her upfront that I will be using the new Sleepyhead (when it comes out) and/or the Rescan to give me current data and that is the way it will have to be.

Hi AuntElizabeth, welcome to Apnea Board!

You don't need to request a card from the DME.

I bought a package of two SD cards at Walmart for around $10. The SD card only needs to be 1GB capacity, but I think the ones I got were 2G and work great. I think some S9 machines are not able to work with SD cards larger than 2GB, but more recently manufactured S9 machines can handle the larger capacity SD cards as well.

If you put a new SD card in the machine and it asks if you want to reformat it, you can say yes.

Anyway, I think the machine stores in itself detailed data for the most recent 7 days, and would write it onto a new blank card if one is put in the machine. CORRECTION: I just checked. No, only the daily statistics and daily summary data is stored in the machine and will get written onto a blank card.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 02-10-2013 06:51 AM by vsheline.)
02-09-2013 10:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Turn my pressure back up? duece12345 5 183 12-07-2016 12:47 PM
Last Post: duece12345
  [CPAP] Machine turning self off and back on rstroudmsdwc 36 13,944 12-05-2016 09:03 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Memory Loss Newbee2016 22 725 11-25-2016 02:15 PM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Overslept last night, forgot what day it was *sigh* Beej 8 381 11-20-2016 01:59 PM
Last Post: PaytonA
  Can't Find Device Number (DN) on Back of Machine gamegrrl 5 187 11-14-2016 05:32 PM
Last Post: gamegrrl
Gross I AM BACK !! Lost53 15 1,067 10-31-2016 09:14 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  BiPAP ST Rx: Back up rate=0 jgoole 3 235 10-10-2016 11:35 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)