Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Full Face mask increases AHI
Full Face mask increases AHI
I have been using an Airlift N30i for six months and have had some mouth leak. Preasure setting are 7 to 12.   I decided to try a full face mask and obtained three different masks: Airfit F30, Airfit F30i and Airtouch F20.

My AHI with the N30i has been under 5.  Using the full face masks one night each for three nights resulted in a significantly increased AHI - Airtouch F20 AHI was 9.79, the Airfit F30i was 11.37 and the Airfit F30 was 24.12.  I was very surprised that the obstructive apnea went from 0.25 with the N30i to 4.02 with the F20, 5.30 with the F30i and 15.33 with the F30. 

I found all three full face masks quiet and comfortable and slept through the night.

Any ideas why I would have such different results between a nasal mask and full face masks?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Full Face mask increases AHI
Can you post some charts so we can see what happened.
Post Reply Post Reply
I have slightly varying AHI with each different mask. I assumed it's just a "thing". I figure if I'm still feeling my usual rested/treated self, then the difference in AHI doesn't bother me.

But my variances are between .6-3.6. Whereas your variances are more significant.

So I agree that it would be good to see your OSCAR charts from those nights, to get a better idea of what's happening.

Some masks I breathe easier with, and some I don't. Sometimes it's the size of the cushion that affects it. So you may need to experiment with that.
Post Reply Post Reply
Not sure how to post the charts.  Are there instructions on the site?
Post Reply Post Reply
Please read and follow the links in my signature.
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com