Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Gap in data in middle of night?
#1
Hi - Every now and then I have a night with a big gap in the middle. I have the mask on when I wake up so I'm not sure what happened. I'll try to add two photos of my data that show what I mean. Any ideas of what is going on at this time?

I don't seem able to post photos right now. I can just say that everything shows the measurements bottoming out for 45 minutes and then starting up again. Wierd.

C
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
If you have SmartStart turned on it can be fooled sometimes and turn off the machine, thinking you have taken the mask off. This normally happened to me if I had a lot of major leaks - I am not sure it it can happen other times or not, but if you have it on, I would try it off for a few days and see if it still does it. The other possibility is you lost power during the night? We live way out on the country and that happens occasionally here.
I am not a Medical professional and I don't play one on the internet.
Started CPAP Therapy April 5, 2016
I'd Rather Be Sleeping
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
After your 4th post you can link and post attachments. I agree with Frank, you are probably using smartstart and just not aware of a major leak.
______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Is the gap shaded in SleepyHead? Does it indicate BND (breathing not detected)? I have had this when I mashed my face into the pillow which lifted the mask off of my face. If the machine has stopped, there should be no graph if the machine was totally off. It won't appear to be bottomed out, it just won't appear at all.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
I had this problem with the PR 560 I just bought. At first it was one or two gaps where no data was recorded then more and more gaps appeared. I also wondered about it stopping as mentioned above but after testing it the power supply was clearly not an issue.

To test out other theories can I recommend that you disable both smart start and smart off. I tried this, it made no difference so I sent the machine back. I have a new one on the way as the company were very happy to replace it. They are also very interested in testing it.

I suspect that something like the sensors were faulty and stopped registering my breathing yet it continued to pump air. If it didn't register my breathing then it could not have been providing me with adequate therapy.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
It could also be a corrupted SD card. Make sure you get all the info into Sleepyhead. When I brought my machine in, they had trouble with the SD card - the info is there but the card isn't working. They gave me a new card.
Post Reply Post Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  First Night's Data Melman 23 604 02-16-2017, 11:41 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  First night ever - First Nights Data Meredith410 49 1,689 01-07-2017, 09:26 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Why does Sleepyhead data not match my machine's data? Ihaveapnea 8 503 01-06-2017, 06:19 PM
Last Post: Ihaveapnea
  Unaware of tearing off fask mask in the middle of my slep Ibiban 4 331 11-07-2016, 06:59 AM
Last Post: lab rat
  Could some nice person look at my night's data? :) michaelba72 5 476 09-16-2016, 05:31 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Stuffy nose in the middle of the night Jim Bronson 20 1,723 09-15-2016, 06:10 PM
Last Post: dwd1249
  Sleepyhead data vs. Doctor's data Daisylouu 8 1,725 09-01-2016, 06:10 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.