Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Guess which machine I will get...
Guess which machine I will get...
Hi everyone,

I am new to the PAP world.  I am in Ontario, Canada and was given a referral by my family doctor as I was getting a lot of headaches in the afternoon.  It turns out I had high blood pressure which is being treated by medicine currently.  I am heavy at about 285lbs, 33yo and my sleep doctor said I have a narrow throat at my first appointment.

Thus far, this is the process I have gone through:
1) First overnight sleep study with nasal prongs (see report below)
2) Given a temporary APAP + Airfit F10 FFM for 3 weeks - I had to give it back last friday and I miss it
3) Second sleep study with the FFM to titrate

Next step:
4) Back to see the doctor on Aug 16th (cannot come soon enough)

After the temp APAP, I still feel tired.  It is better - but I still need a nap on one day during the weekend vs. used to taking two before the APAP.  Aug 16th cannot come soon enough.

Now, I believe that I am headed for a bilevel iVAPS, or ST.  During my titration study, I know I woke up to a bipap, and when I stopped breathing for a second, it forced a breath.  Prior to that, I couldn't sleep, so I suspect the bilevel allowed me to sleep well.  I asked at the end whether it was bilevel, and he confirmed it was.  I also asked whether it was common to do so, and he said that it wasn't.  Reading up on things, it sounds like I may have OHS.

My wife has insurance, so I can get $3500 towards a unit.  I am also wondering if it would be good to get an S or VAUTO as part of the government program as a backup for $280.

So...some questions:
1) Would it make sense for an iVAPS or ST in my situation?
2) I don't seem to have many centrals, but would an ASV provide any benefits?