Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

HYPOPNIAS - ARE THEY CENTRAL OR OBSTRUCTIVE EVENTS?
RE: HYPOPNIAS - ARE THEY CENTRAL OR OBSTRUCTIVE EVENTS?
Probably I am responding to the leak question ineptly. I shall attach the plotted leak rate for the night as, certainly, 60 is very high.

As I understand it, there can be three sources of leak in an otherwise properly set-up system:
(1) The designed-in leak due to the purge/vent arrangement (which I understand is to flush out CO2?)
(2) Mask-to-face seal leak
(3) Leak via the mouth(!)

For me I am learning to control (3) because I am a veteran mouth-breather - last night was pretty successful.
In the old days people used to recommend mouth-breathers to tape their mouth shut but that sounds dangerous if there is a nose blockage - any comments?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1ZlKa1...sp=sharing
Post Reply Post Reply
(11-11-2015, 01:25 PM)justMongo Wrote: There is no scoring for lazy diaphragm. Except perhaps in the brass section of a band.Eat-popcorn

And, your leak rate is too high.

Haha!

Leak-rate has been re-stated, thanks.
Spotty
Post Reply Post Reply
Be careful in assuming the machine really knows what is going on when it scores an event. For example in the attached chart

the machine says I have a Hypopnia at 5:16:25 and it's assumed to occur while I was asleep. But if you look closely, my breathing pattern changed at 5:08:22. It became quicker and the shape went from flat topped to more rounded then back to flat topped and slow then rounded and faster again at 5:10:10. From careful observations of several weeks I know the faster and rounded waveform indicates I was awake and thus the breathing pattern should not be attributed to AHI.