Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Has anyone ever tried making their own mask?
Has anyone ever tried making their own mask?
I am new to using CPAP. I have the Dreamwear Nasal and Full face masks. I really like how the hose goes on top of the head, and I also like the soft silicone material the mask is made of. However, there are some design flaws, particularly in the mask size. I ned a physically wider mask - not just wider air holes, but the whole mask - the esdges of my mouth and my lower lip are too far apart for this particular mask.

I know it would be a substantial project, but I was thinking of trying to come up with a custom cushion. Has anyone tried creating their own masks before?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Has anyone ever tried making their own mask?
I have not done it. But it is an interesting idea. You could use a 3D printer, but those usually use rigid plastic. But you could make a mold with it.

There might also be opportunities to improve on headgear.
Post Reply Post Reply
No, I have never even considered trying to make my own mask. have found that masks are a very individual choice-a mask that one person likes may not do well for someone else. I would suggest looking at several different masks , then select one that works for you. I just don't believe that we individual patients have the know-how or resources to venture into mask making . The mask is an engineered medical device , and I for one, have no wish to attempt making one.

TheDuke
Post Reply Post Reply
When I first heard the term "cpap pillow", I thought that it was a pillow with a built in mask. I had a vision of a mask that would substitute for a pillow and you would sleep face down. I built such a mask, but it did not work.
Post Reply Post Reply