Post Reply 
Has anyone had a power cut
Author Message
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #21
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
Both ResMed and Philips Respironics machines, and probably most others too, will run off both 120 volt 60 Hz (as used in North America) and the 240 volt 50 Hz found just about everywhere else. You will need either the simple type of adapter to change the geometry of the plug, or a different cord that runs from the wall outlet to the power brick of your CPAP machine, just like you would for a laptop computer.

I use one of those uninterruptable power supplies (UPS) for short outages. For longer term you'll need another solution. The Philips Respironics machines run natively off 12 volt DC so a large lead acid battery can be used. All you need is the pair of cords to connect the battery to your CPAP machine. One of those cords lets you plug the CPAP machine into a cigarette lighter socket, the other lets you connect that cigarette lighter plug directly to battery terminals. These cords have fuse and surge protection. ResMed machines run off 24-volt DC and a special proprietary converter cable is needed so you can run them from a 12-volt battery.

You can buy lithium ion battery packs that are lighter weight, but they are more expensive and don't go as long on a charge.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-14-2015 12:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Scared Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: philips Respironics Remstar Auto A-Flex System one
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F & P simplus Meduim
Humidifier: None
CPAP Pressure: 9.4
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: Diabetic Type 2 high bood pressure, Diverticulitis, Arthritis

Sex: Female
Location: French Alps

Post: #22
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
What a wonderful bunch of people you are, thank you all so so much. Lynn
05-14-2015 01:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Robert Wilson Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: respironics
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 15-20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #23
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
(05-14-2015 02:32 AM)ScaredRIDING THE FERRY IN YOUR RV SOUNDS LIKE PARADISE; ARE YOU FROM FRANCE? I BET YOU LIVE IN PARADISE. I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO FRANCE NOR THE ALPS. I HAVE BEEN TO ENGLAND, SPAIN,KOREA, JAPAN,ECT. BUT NEVER FRANCE. MY WIFE DOES NOT LIKE TO FLY SO WE CRUISE WHEN WE CAN. I CAN NOT CARRY MY OXYGEN CONCENTRATOR ABOARD AIRCRAFT.[/size' Wrote:  
(05-13-2015 04:55 PM)Robert Wilson Wrote:  [size=large] You will have to check with your travel agent to find the answer to your question of whether your C-pap may work in Greece,some respiratory equipment have a easy way to change to 50 cycle from 60 cycle, and there are gimmicks that will do the same,does your RV float? How will you get to Greece with it? (curious) P.S. Your RV may not be compatible with Greece's current, nor will your power cord from the RV. Please keep me updated, you have my complete attention. RW

Hi Robert, I live in the Alps in France so drive down to Ancona in Italy, from here about 5 hours, then we go on the ferry, it takes about 23 hours and you can camp on board. Lynn

05-14-2015 01:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Coach_L Offline

Members

Posts: 11
Joined: Jan 2015

Machine: Airsense10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 10-13
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Canada

Post: #24
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
(05-12-2015 02:22 PM)Scared Wrote:  Hello, I was wondering if anyone has xperienced a power cut while using the CPAP Machine, if so what did you all do?

I have a power pack in my room for just this issue as my Apnea is rather severe. You can buy portable power packs from nearly anywhere. Make sure to bring one with you if you are traveling.
05-14-2015 03:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Scared Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: philips Respironics Remstar Auto A-Flex System one
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F & P simplus Meduim
Humidifier: None
CPAP Pressure: 9.4
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: Diabetic Type 2 high bood pressure, Diverticulitis, Arthritis

Sex: Female
Location: French Alps

Post: #25
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
(05-14-2015 03:15 PM)Coach_L Wrote:  
(05-12-2015 02:22 PM)Scared Wrote:  Hello, I was wondering if anyone has xperienced a power cut while using the CPAP Machine, if so what did you all do?

I have a power pack in my room for just this issue as my Apnea is rather severe. You can buy portable power packs from nearly anywhere. Make sure to bring one with you if you are traveling.

Hi, yes thats why I need to sort one out, my Apnea was 78 and oxygene went down to 86% so quite bad, I dont think they will allow me to carry on the Plane when I come over to Chicago, think I will have to buy one over there, any Ideas of where please? tbanks
05-15-2015 02:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OMyMyOHellYes Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 915
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: Respironics 560 Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage FX
Humidifier: Respironics System One (no heated hose)
CPAP Pressure: 08.0-15.0 cm/H2O
CPAP Software: EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #26
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
Oh, you should be able to carry on the airlines. Medical equipment (CPAP) is generally OK.

At least on all US carriers.
05-15-2015 10:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #27
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
I've been told that the CPAP machine does not count towards your carry-on allotment because it's medical equipment. I will find out for sure when I take a trip this summer. Smile

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-15-2015 03:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
krelvin Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 155
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: Resmed S9 VPAP Auto BiLevel
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air
Humidifier: S9 Series H5i Heated Humidifier with Climate Control
CPAP Pressure: 10.6cm - 18cm - PS 4cm
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: FlashAir WiFi SDcard with SleepMaster/FlashPAP - Weather Nut

Sex: Male
Location: Mesa AZ

Post: #28
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
(05-15-2015 03:26 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  I've been told that the CPAP machine does not count towards your carry-on allotment because it's medical equipment. I will find out for sure when I take a trip this summer. Smile
All current Resmed equipment is on the FAA approval list for medical equipment. That includes the S9 models.

Current Settings PS 4.0 over 10.6-18.0 (cmH2O) BiLevel Auto
TNET Sleep Resource Pages
CPAP Machine Database
05-15-2015 10:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Robert Wilson Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: respironics
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 15-20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #29
RE: Has anyone had a power cut
Your medical equipment provider should be able to reserve an oxygen concentrator ahead of your airline trip as a courtesy.: :Sleep-well ]
(05-14-2015 03:15 PM)Coach_L Wrote:  
(05-12-2015 02:22 PM)Scared Wrote:  Hello, I was wondering if anyone has xperienced a power cut while using the CPAP Machine, if so what did you all do?

I have a power pack in my room for just this issue as my Apnea is rather severe. You can buy portable power packs from nearly anywhere. Make sure to bring one with you if you are traveling.

Hi, yes thats why I need to sort one out, my Apnea was 78 and oxygene went down to 86% so quite bad, I dont think they will allow me to carry on the Plane when I come over to Chicago, think I will have to buy one over there, any Ideas of where please? My oxygen concentrator is provided by a nationally established medical equipment company. I can get a courtesy Ox2 reserved at my destination-- pick it up, go to sleep! RW
05-22-2015 04:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Robert Wilson Offline

Members

Posts: 13
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: respironics
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 15-20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #30
Money RE: Has anyone had a power cut
Wondering: Can you use a bipap for a cpap? RWilson
05-22-2015 04:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Insurance won't pay for power cord? CharlotteYork 13 910 11-17-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: tzk321
Idea ResMed S8 repair for no power SuperSleeper 4 257 11-17-2016 02:41 PM
Last Post: 10bigal10
  Power Outage: Stay Awake Or Sleep W/O CPAP? player 11 716 10-26-2016 08:29 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  WINTER COMING....POWER OUTAGES??? giftofsleep 2 326 10-06-2016 06:52 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  DreamStation power supply Bouncer334 4 561 09-03-2016 11:07 AM
Last Post: Perchas
  [Equipment] Camping for 7 days - AirCurve 10 ASV - battery power? Grooves McFly 21 2,785 08-31-2016 01:29 AM
Last Post: Maskup Sleepwell
Surprised [Equipment] Emergency backup power Marthajoy7 9 601 08-21-2016 10:00 AM
Last Post: icyura10

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)