Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Poll: Have you developed type 2 diabetes?
This poll is closed.
Yes
33.33%
10 33.33%
No
66.67%
20 66.67%
Total 30 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

[Health] Are You a Diabetic?
RE: Are You a Diabetic?
(11-16-2017, 06:58 AM)Timur Wrote: I'm not diabetic or pre-diabetic but am very interested in this subject since having OSA is linked with insulin resistance. 

Huh EEk!
I am NOT a doctor.  I try to help, but do not take what I say as medical advice.

Every journey, however large or small starts with the first step.

Sleep-well
Post Reply Post Reply
(11-15-2017, 11:11 PM)Kryogen Wrote: What logically comes to my mind:

People who are fatter have more sleep apnea.
People who are fatter have more type 2 diabetes (insulin resistance).
Does apnea really cause diabetes, or it's just there because of the fat that also causes the apnea ?
Is there a correlation independant of the weight?

Dr endocrinologist, anything about that in the litterature?

Thanks

There are studies showing increased incidence of type 2 diabetes in people with sleep apnea compared with people of similar height and weight who do not have sleep apnea.
Post Reply Post Reply
one cause of insulin resistance is increased cortisol. SDB causes adrenalin, and cortisol to be produced in greater quantities when your body is signaled by dropping o2 levels to "fight"

one cause of obesity is insulin resistance
one cause of insulin resistance is obesity

insulin resistance causes excess insulin which in turn causes storage of fat in the abdomen. abdominal fat in particular increases insulin resistance.