Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Health risks lowered after cpap? Sinus issues from cpap?
Health risks lowered after cpap? Sinus issues from cpap?
Hello everyone,

I am a new member to the group and find a wealth of knowledge in this forum. Thanks to all of you. This is my first post. I was diagnosed with severe OSA with a take home test and then formal sleep study of 78 AHI per hour and prescribed CPAP therapy, fixed setting of 11. I have just completed my first month (it was an experience), achieved compliance, and not yet had a follow-up with my sleep apnea doctor. Using sleepyhead software, I can see my progress, and it seems I am seeing my AHI numbers settling in to the goal of <5 but never less than 2. Seems that is good, yes? I was amazed when I started learning how many negative health risks and impacts are the result of untreated sleep apnea and how many undiagnosed cases there are today. I wish more people were aware and would get tested/treated.

On to my post question: Given a quick google search on so many negative health risks of sleep apnea ( such as heart, stroke, high blood pressure, even cancer ), if I stay 'treated' on CPAP therapy ( and maintain under 5 AHI/hr ) will those elevated risks then go back down at some point in time to the same levels as those folks who have no sleep apnea? Or can I only reduce but always stay more risky for some/all?

I also developed a cold/sinus infection after 10days using CPAP. Can using a CPAP machine as recommended and cleaning as required actually 'cause' me to develop a sinus infection? How about sinus headache? I hope not. Any thoughts please share.

Thank you for responding.
Dan
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Health risks lowered after cpap? Sinus issues from cpap?