Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Hello folks, allow me to introduce myself
I am a truck driver by trade, and recently did an at home sleep study according to the new DOT rules. It was required due to the fact that my BMI is over what it should be, and my neck circumference is too large. Went back to my local sleep center for the results of the test yesterday, and sure enough, I have sleep apnea. I rarely wake up in the middle of the night gasping for air, but I sometimes do. Doctor told me that my breathing is shallow and my blood oxygen levels get very low. I have an appointment for Monday night at the sleep center. They're essentially gonna hook me up to a ton of wires and medicate me to sleep so they can fit me for a CPAP machine. It's a requirement for me to hold on to my CDL, and I'm also hoping that this will help improve my sleep where I feel better rested each morning. The lack of oxygen in my blood during sleep drives up my heart rate and blood pressure, not so good. Thanks for listening, and I'll share my sleep progress here. New chapter in my middle aged life. Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome. nightrider1669! You will have lots of questions and get lots of good advice here. Be sure and keep us posted on this new journey.
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome

And welcome to the world of having to stay medically compliant in the world of a professional/heavy vehicle driver.

I'm now on CPAP for compliance here in Australia, and my diagnosis is only at the "mild apnea" level.

You will find this group very helpful and informative Nightrider. Cool
Post Reply Post Reply