Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Help: AirSense 11 "Thumps" on exhale?
RE: Help: AirSense 11 "Thumps" on exhale?
I had this issue too. I described it as a 'click' noise upon exhale. It was loud enough that my wife said she couldn't fall to sleep if it was happening. I also found that it was the water chamber. Firmly reseating it made it stop. I was thinking of rubbing a thin film of food grade silicon grease at the seams of the chamber but it seems to have ceased making the noise now. I hope this helps.
Post Reply Post Reply
I just got an AirSense 11 about a week ago. I have the same issue as the original poster. I've been using ResMed products since 2007 and never had a similar issue. I've been able to identify that the loud thumping noise itself is from the two AirFit 30i mask valves closing rapidly again on inhalation. When I feel the "vent" area where the hose connects to the tubing leading to the mask, it's clear the airflow is stopping *completely* on exhalation (then resuming rapidly, pushing the valves on the mask and making the thump; I took video to confirm this). EPR is **off**. SmartStart is off. Ramp is off. I tried another mask and same thing. I'm mystified. One person here said his issue was his water chamber wasn't seated properly. I don't see how this could effect this issue, but I checked, and mine is definitely in there and doesn't move during breathing. I tried speaking with ResMed and they refuse to say if this is a known problem or not (or otherwise provide guidance). DME says I can send it in for a check since it's under warranty. This is a very lengthy process, however (4-8 weeks), and I'm only inclined to do so if there's a reasonable chance my next device won't do the same thing. I'm trying to figure out if this is a common defect in Ai