Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Apnea just as falling asleep, even w/ CPAP
Apnea just as falling asleep, even w/ CPAP
Hi!
I am new to the board.
I have been using a CPAP for 10 years and by-and-large it has been okay.
But lately I have been experiencing a real troubling thing.  Just as I am about to fall asleep, with my mask on, I will have an apnea, and then wake up with my heart racing.
I think it is because just as my body is about to fully relax, even with the CPAP on, that change in my throat causes me to gasp.
Maybe I should increase the pressure? Sleep in a chair, elevated?
Additional note:  I currently have a cold, and it's quite likely that this is related.
I have only had a tiny bit of sleep over the past few days and I am losing my mind.  
Any suggestions are appreciated.

tx
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Apnea just as falling asleep, even w/ CPAP
Welcome! Sleep-transition events are not uncommon, but they sure can be disruptive. Do you have the ramp feature on? If so, you might try experimenting (a) by turning it off and (b) by lengthening the ramp time. One of those changes might give you some help.

I warmly recommend that you download the Oscar software to a laptop or desktop computer and use it to generate charts from the data on the SD card in your machine. If you would then attach a screenshot of a Daily chart, people in the forum may be able to give you more tailored advice.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Apnea just as falling asleep, even w/ CPAP
(01-19-2021, 11:12 PM)JHoffman555 Wrote: Hi!
I am new to the board.
I have been using a CPAP for 10 years and by-and-large it has been okay.