Post Reply 
Help! My machine quit working.
Author Message
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #21
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
(08-03-2014 10:03 PM)surferdude2 Wrote:  Since the machine's pressure sensor is inside the machine and the pressure we want to subject our face to is downstream considerably, it would seem to follow that the number registered on the machine's LED is arrived at arbitrarily and was arrived at by taking into consideration several pressure drop factors which are affected by flow rate, such as the line length and the mask type. That's borne out by the fact that you must use a different setting on the machine when you change mask types.

Except for the amount being arbitrary, what you say is correct for ResMed S9 machines. With PRS1 you dial the amount in by selecting the System One Resistance. These are small pressure adjustments on the order of less than 1 cm H2O.

They don't matter much for the crude bathtub manometer measurement.

What does matter, though, is the IPAP pressure if you have a bi-level machine like Kate does. The bathtub manometer will measure only the EPAP pressure, not the higher IPAP pressure because no one's inhaling!

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-05-2014 07:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,015
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #22
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
Except her profile says that she has a bilevel SV Adapt unless that is an error.
08-06-2014 12:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Kate Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP S
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Resperonics FitLife
Humidifier: ResMed S5i
CPAP Pressure: 8/4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: VPAP always makes me feel like my avatar.

Sex: Female
Location: Poulsbo, Washington

Post: #23
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
Hello All,

Let's see, so many things to answer.

The my machine that broke in the first place is Resmed model number 36006A. Above the button, it says auto VPAP. I have used the same type mask for almost a year. No leak in the tubing, filter changed two days before I first sent email about this. No blockage in anything that I can see into. The machine just fails the manometer test that was suggested earlier.

By the way, even when I put the pressure to 15, the tub manometer is still the same 4 cm.

I called the people that sold it to me and the lady was very kind. But the person who picked it out at the warehouse sent me the wrong model. The one that they had sent me is model number 36007 VPAP ADAPT which doesn't have the IPAP setting or ramp. I have since found out that the IPAP is probably the MIN PS but it doesn't matter because EVEN when the humidifier is not connected, it is worse than the old one. I think someone tried to pawn a returned machine off on me.

I spoke to the lady that was so nice before and she was the one that told me that the warehouse had sent the wrong machine. So now I am trying to get through my third weekend since this started.

Does anyone know where I can get it fixed? As far as I can tell, Resmed just throws them away!

Kate

:Using cpap then vpap since Feb.2013,
Kate
(This post was last modified: 08-10-2014 06:53 AM by Kate.)
08-10-2014 05:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #24
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
(08-10-2014 05:39 AM)Kate Wrote:  By the way, even when I put the pressure to 15, the tub manometer is still the same 4 cm.

Are you setting the IPAP to 15? If so, and the EPAP is 4 the manometer will read 4.

Put the machine in CPAP mode and measure it again.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-10-2014 09:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #25
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
(08-10-2014 05:39 AM)Kate Wrote:  The my machine that broke in the first place is Resmed model number 36006A. Above the button, it says auto VPAP.

Look again. Does it instead read "VPAP Auto".

Have you looked at this?

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...8#pid75378

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-10-2014 09:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Kate Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP S
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Resperonics FitLife
Humidifier: ResMed S5i
CPAP Pressure: 8/4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: VPAP always makes me feel like my avatar.

Sex: Female
Location: Poulsbo, Washington

Post: #26
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
VPAP auto. I meant even when the EPAP or inhalation is 15 moved up from my setting of 8, I still get a CONSTANT blowing in my face of 4.

:Using cpap then vpap since Feb.2013,
Kate
08-11-2014 03:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Kate Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP S
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Resperonics FitLife
Humidifier: ResMed S5i
CPAP Pressure: 8/4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: VPAP always makes me feel like my avatar.

Sex: Female
Location: Poulsbo, Washington

Post: #27
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
UPDATE: I received a second new machine replacement from Supplier #2 and it doesn't work. Then I knew the problem had to be on my end. The only thing that I could think of was the electricity. I changed rooms, nothing. Then I thought of the cord that goes from the machine to the brick thingy, then to the plug. Could that have been the problem all along?

Supplier #2 just sent replacement machines WITHOUT a new cord with the brick on it. Could this be the problem??????

Kate

:Using cpap then vpap since Feb.2013,
Kate
08-14-2014 03:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,015
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #28
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
When you say that it does not work, could you give a little more detail? Does the screen on your machine light up? Does the little LED on the power brick light up? Is the power cord plugged in securely at all three points: the wall plug, the plug in the brick and the plug into the machine?
08-14-2014 10:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Kate Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP S
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Resperonics FitLife
Humidifier: ResMed S5i
CPAP Pressure: 8/4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: VPAP always makes me feel like my avatar.

Sex: Female
Location: Poulsbo, Washington

Post: #29
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
Smart start is off. In the beginning of this thread, it tells you everything that I tried.

Kate

:Using cpap then vpap since Feb.2013,
Kate
08-14-2014 02:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Kate Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP S
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Resperonics FitLife
Humidifier: ResMed S5i
CPAP Pressure: 8/4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: VPAP always makes me feel like my avatar.

Sex: Female
Location: Poulsbo, Washington

Post: #30
RE: Help! My machine quit working.
I changed the setting to CPAP and I still get 4 cm pressure.

:Using cpap then vpap since Feb.2013,
Kate
08-14-2014 05:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 253 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] Changes in how the machine has been working? Xinectyl 9 318 11-07-2016 12:02 PM
Last Post: Xinectyl
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 2 6,157 10-12-2016 11:37 AM
Last Post: DariaVader
Gross [Equipment] Unit not working Monty6894 3 373 09-18-2016 06:52 AM
Last Post: cate1898
  [Equipment] Dreamstation Auto ON/OFF set but not working newb 11 2,199 09-14-2016 02:39 PM
Last Post: rkl122
  Remstar quit working ropdve 4 387 09-06-2016 05:11 PM
Last Post: cate1898
  [Treatment] Auto CPAP, high/erratic AHI, high Clear Apneas - it's not working jmortensenjr 10 770 08-30-2016 09:07 PM
Last Post: jmortensenjr

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)