Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Help Needed re Apnea Test Results
Help Needed re Apnea Test Results
Hello, my wife was recently diagnosed with apnea. She used an in home test kit and it rated her at mild, 13 AHI. I think all results are entirely automatic.

However I'm exceptionally suspicious about the results and deeply concerned that the pulmonologist seems to think it's no big deal, and is telling her she only needs to use CPAP for a week before and after surgery! Now if she really did have mile apnea I might be OK with that. 

But she had 8 events where she went under 85% oxygen saturation with her lowest being 72%! I am not an expert, but correct if I am wrong that you have to be in an alternate universe for that to be mild apnea.

She also had 87 hypopneas, which they don't appear to count as relevant. I hear my wide stop breathing and gasping for air all night long. I'm just blown away this test could come back as mild, and even more blown away the pulmonologist is convincing her it is no big deal, which is exactly what she wants to believe.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Help Needed re Apnea Test Results
AHI is a pretty crude measure of the severity of apnea. As somebody said in another thread recently, using AHI categorised as mild, moderate and severe was originally devised by researchers doing statistical analyses. The AHI tells how many times a patient has interrupted breathing apnea and hypopnea) per hour on average over the night. It doesn't measure how long each individual event lasted: a 10 second event scores the same as a sixty second one. It also doesn't measure how events are clustered - a sequence of 15 sixty second events will score the same as 15 individual 10 second events over a whole night.