Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Mask Trial Periods
Mask Trial Periods
Hi, I'm new to the cpap world and have just been on therapy for 2 weeks. I'm conflicted about the best type of mask for me. I like full face masks in that it seems to minimize the exhaling pressure and I don't have to worry about my mouth so much. However, I don't like the size of it (Airfit F20) being on my face. I like to sleep on my side and feel the mask gets in the way. It also feels like I have an alien sucking on my face.

I've tried a nasal mask one night and two different nasal pillows one night each (Dreamware and Airfit P10). I like the minimalist feel to the nasal pillows but the thing I don't like is the feeling of having an air pressure relief value at the back of my mouth ready to go off at a moments. Occasionally I'll open my mouth and the rush of air will come out. Even with my mouth closed I'll still sometimes have a little leak come out.

Basically each mask has their own pluses and minuses and they're each different. I know everybody is different but curious if there is a recommended time frame to try a mask before deciding if you should move on to another one? I feel like I'm a single guy asking people if/when they knew their mask was "the one"?  Smile

Thanks!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Mask Trial Periods
Welcome to the Apnea Board.

First read the Mask Primer, there is a ton of info in there.