Post Reply 
Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
Author Message
Eurika Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 92
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Airsense10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Nuance Gel
Humidifier: Intergrated
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 11.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Singapore

Post: #1
Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
Hi

I've been using the the A10 Auto on full auto settings and my median pressure is around 9.5 with a max of approximately 10.5 and getting AHI readings on Sleepyhead of around 4 + -

But when I decrease the range to 7 min and 12 max I start running into problem. If I get a leak in the mask and then try to readjust the nasal pillows it feels like the machine is fighting me and increasing pressure, and after checking SH it was showing pressures in excess of 14.5

I am wondering if it's got something to do with having the Ramp set to on, or the EPR which is set to 2.

I am using the Resmed P10 which is great, but ..........

If anybody can help with suggestions or would be prepared to take a look at my SD card data to see what I'm doing wrong I would be so grateful.

Thanks in advance

Duncan

Failure is NOT an option.
11-13-2014 04:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
(11-13-2014 04:04 AM)Eurika Wrote:  But when I decrease the range to 7 min and 12 max I start running into problem. If I get a leak in the mask and then try to readjust the nasal pillows it feels like the machine is fighting me and increasing pressure, and after checking SH it was showing pressures in excess of 14.5

I am wondering if it's got something to do with having the Ramp set to on, or the EPR which is set to 2.
Nothing to do with SleepyHead (SH), SH only read whatever data is on the SD card

The machine cannot increase pressure more than the maximum set pressure, even if wanted to. Check again pressure setting in the clinical menu
If using EPR 2, SH report EPAP 2 below IPAP, not 2 above
11-13-2014 04:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Eurika Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 92
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Airsense10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Nuance Gel
Humidifier: Intergrated
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 11.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Singapore

Post: #3
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
I'm really new to this and when I try to reduce the difference between the max and min pressures I run into problems.
Should I just leave it on Auto 4 to 20 and let the machine do its thing?

Failure is NOT an option.
11-13-2014 04:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
I'm not sure understand the problems, the machine do not increase pressure at the first sign of a leak which is a good thing otherwise the pressure can reach the maximum limit at no time

I'm not big fan of 4 to 20 and do not trust this machine to titrate me all night long and figure whats appropriate. I prefer small range like in my profile 9-12 (no ramp or EPR) and let the machine dance all night between those two numbers, cannot go lower than 9 or higher than 12. My leak is small number and AHI is even smaller. The other night, I set the machine at straight 11 and deliver similar results . I'm not saying what to do or not to do, just what I'm comfortable with and works for me ... as the saying goes ... everyone is different

Time for me to go to bed, you should have some early risers to keep your company
11-13-2014 06:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Eurika Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 92
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Airsense10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Nuance Gel
Humidifier: Intergrated
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 11.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Singapore

Post: #5
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
Thanks Zonk and sleep well

Failure is NOT an option.
11-13-2014 08:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
Okay. You narrowed the range to 7 - 12 based on the data. (How long did you collect the data?) But the software says that the pressure goes over the 12 and gets as high as 14.5? That'd be weird. Ramp is only involved in the beginning. It starts out at 4 then slowly increases over whatever time you have it set to whatever the lowest pressure is. EPR is the exhalation relief. If you have it set to 2, then it drops the pressure down 2 points when you exhale. So if the pressure is running at, say, 10, then when you exhale, it drops to 8, up to 10 when you breathe in, you get the idea. So neither of those would cause the machine to go over the maximum auto pressure limit.

Could you post a screenshot from SleepyHead?
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-How-to-Attachments

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-13-2014 09:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Eurika Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 92
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Airsense10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Nuance Gel
Humidifier: Intergrated
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 11.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Singapore

Post: #7
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
Thanks Paula02 your comments explain it very well and I understand how the EPR affects the pressure now.
I think I need to just stop fiddling with the machine and get a couple of weeks data on the same settings so that a more relevant set of data can point to the best settings.

Last night, early morning, I woke as I felt myself sleeping with my mouth open, so as you have said previously, no two nights are the same.

Thanks for your help.

D

Failure is NOT an option.
11-13-2014 08:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Eurika Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 92
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: Airsense10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Nuance Gel
Humidifier: Intergrated
CPAP Pressure: 5 to 11.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Singapore

Post: #8
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
I have a screenshot saved as a .png file and need to figure out how to upload it, but will have to wait as I have to get to work just now.
Not being technically that savvy is starting to show.

Failure is NOT an option.
11-13-2014 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
chiphead Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 32
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: Airsense Autoset A10 (USA) Model
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Quattro Air
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 6 - 20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, Australia

Post: #9
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
(11-13-2014 09:02 PM)Eurika Wrote:  I have a screenshot saved as a .png file and need to figure out how to upload it, but will have to wait as I have to get to work just now.
Not being technically that savvy is starting to show.

I have set up a profile on photobucket (its free) and you upload your photos there. Then you can get a copy of the link to your photo. Then just paste the link into your post on here.
Just yell Eurika, if you have any dramas with this and i will try and guide you thru.
But you will need to set up an account on there first and upload your photo.

Chip
11-13-2014 11:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #10
RE: Help needed with Airsense 10 Auto settings
(11-13-2014 04:04 AM)Eurika Wrote:  I've been using the the A10 Auto on full auto settings and my median pressure is around 9.5 with a max of approximately 10.5 and getting AHI readings on Sleepyhead of around 4 + -

But when I decrease the range to 7 min and 12 max I start running into problem. If I get a leak in the mask and then try to readjust the nasal pillows it feels like the machine is fighting me and increasing pressure, and after checking SH it was showing pressures in excess of 14.5

Hi Eurika,

Maybe you are confusing settings for Ramp (like Start Pressure) with the settings for Min Pressure and Max Pressure?

You can refer to the Clinician set-up manual to make sure you are changing what you intend to be changing. (You have received the Clinician set-up manual, right?)

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 11-13-2014 11:27 PM by vsheline.)
11-13-2014 11:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Newbie - need advice on settings and machine tmc712 18 353 Yesterday 09:04 PM
Last Post: tmc712
  Dream Station Ramp and Pressure Settings knowoneuno 21 436 Yesterday 11:00 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,456 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Dream Station Settings Autumnseer 15 531 11-26-2016 07:01 AM
Last Post: Weird Tolkienish Figure
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 554 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 511 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Advice needed for struggling CPAP user Fubblin 35 1,980 11-18-2016 07:18 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)